What is your digi-cam Christmas wish of 2005?

jpcc

Mar 29, 2004
MMmmmmm, I have a survey of the current digicam offering
and noticed there are too many players.

Of which some are the traditional film camera 300 pound gorillas.
{ Canon, Nikon, Konica-Minolta }

Some are fighting because their life is at stake.
{ Fuji, Kodak }

Some are consumer electronics giant.
{ Panasonic, Sony } and Sanyo which OEM for Olympus and Nikon in the
early years of digi-cam

Some have film camera / optical design roots
{ Contax, Olympus, Pentax }

and some are strong in instrumentation or have other digital expertise
{ Casio, HP, Epson ... }

Will there be a shakeout? or will it be later?

Anyway, the '04 Christmas digicam offering is already out by now.

If we disregard SLR (as all newer players do not have a
stable of lens / lens mount to play with) , I think
pro-sumer cameras or more capable digi-P&S will be the
more desirable cameras for the near future.

If given a chance to mix the better features of two digi-cam into one,
(yup only two brands), and it will come out in end 2005.
What would you choose?

:think: :think: :think:

I would take Panasonic LC-1 and Sony Hologram-AF.
5 Meg is ok, but fast lens and must have
{good dynamic range and minimal shutter lag}

SLR dream: i hope the big boys come together and make a universal lens mount for SLRs. nikon, canon, fuji and konica-minolta compatible.

p&s hope: sony's hologram AF assist + jog dial with nikon's wide angle or telephoto zoom VR lens :D

A full Mamiya 67 system with a Leaf 22 Megapixel Digital back... Its only a wish... :bsmilie:

well.. my wish, D2x, price slash on Nikon's lenses and accessories. make flim scanners more affordable, make apple computers more affordable. last but not least,more peaceful years of Csing,....and...world peace for everyone ! including those living in anarctica or north and south pole !! ahahaha.. polar bears and penguins not included... lol.... :bsmilie:

Well for Christmas of 2005 (since one more year to go......)

Wish that Singapore will bring in Handphone Cum Camera ( 5 MEGA PIXEL!)
SCH-S250 (CDMA)

Form Factor: Stretch Style Slider
1600k Color TFD QVGA (24 bit True Color)
Internal 92MB + External 32mb bundle
Shutter Speed 1/1000 sec
Aufo Focus (Minimum Auto Focus Distance 10cm)
TV-OUT
64 Poly
MP3 Play back
TTS (Text to Speech) [ you can speak words instead of typing ]
RS-MMC
Weight: 100g (Weight Uncertain)

s3Pro with an ED 2400mm prime
"What, no such thing ? well my wish is that you make it", Merry Xmas!

jpcc said:
Some are fighting because their life is at stake.
{ Fuji, Kodak }

FYI... Kodak not exactly doing badly in the digital camera industry. It's not very popular in Singapore - but for the rest of the world and especially the US, it's among the top sellers.

See this little report by CNET.

> Some are fighting because their life is at stake.
> { Fuji, Kodak }

"FYI... Kodak not exactly doing badly in the digital camera industry. It's not very popular in Singapore - but for the rest of the world and especially the US, it's among the top sellers."

My assertion on "their life is at stake", I meant these two players
are most affected by the shift from a silver halide based film medium to
a digital one (especially those Research labs in Ashigara or Rochester ...) .

Yeah, all along, Fuji has there Fujinon lens and manufacture cameras for
6x6 or 6x9 medium. Eastman Kodak is just using Schneider optics under license by Jos. Schneider Optische Werke GmbH.

I believe the traditional film companies may not have much advantages
to other consumer electronics giants on DSP, CCD sensors, electronics research.

I would wish for 3 digicams.
1. DSLR for important works and paid assignments
2. Hi-end digicam (eg Nikon 8800) for travelling and light assignments
3. Tiny digicam (eg Sony T3) for fun and party

(And I also wish Sony would convert to CF/SD memory.....)

Astin said:
I would wish for 3 digicams.
1. DSLR for important works and paid assignments
2. Hi-end digicam (eg Nikon 8800) for travelling and light assignments
3. Tiny digicam (eg Sony T3) for fun and party

(And I also wish Sony would convert to CF/SD memory.....)

After 1. where you got time for 2.?

My digi-cam X'mas wish for 2004 or 2005?

If 2004 den forget it liao. Cos too close oredi.
If 2005, maybe still got hope.... Hope for a 1Ds MarkII and the complete set of L lens plus a trip to Africa, Japan, Antartica, Artic, Switzerland... :D

I'm more realistic.

IXUS40 + extra battery + 1GB Smart Media Card.

Just perfect for snapshots during gatherings with friends, family and clubbing when you don't want to lug your SLR and lenses around.

Konica Minolta A2 with full frame sensor and interchangable lenses! :bsmilie:

mr_jason said:
I'm more realistic.

IXUS40 + extra battery + 1GB Smart Media Card.

Just perfect for snapshots during gatherings with friends, family and clubbing when you don't want to lug your SLR and lenses around.

isnt 1GB memory with extra batt a bit excessive for family gatherings :p
For me I just wish for a nice compact cam(maybe a contax i4r?contax t3?) with just 256MB memory to go everywhere with me :)

Ok lah. 1GB good for those tour outings, etc. Can shoot 2 to 3 days worth on high JPEG I believe.

:think: hmm...

A Carbon Fiber Tripod, a sturdy and light ballhead, a 70-200 IS, erm... mebbe a 1dMk2, erm... IPod Photos 60GB+CF Reader addon... all under 2k... :D:D

Can lah Ross, strike Toto during Chinese New Year for the Hongpow Jackpot Draw, dun say all those, anything oso can ;)

Anyway, its juz once a year. What's 2hrs queue compared to a hope of an early retirement and comfort for u and ur family? :D

Technology wise, I would hope for the following:
1) Fuel cell to gradually replace Li-Ion
2) OLED mature enough to take oveer LCD
3) Flexible screen, (OLED) provide more freedom and options
for industrial engineers to design an alternative to tilt/swivel screen
4) Imaging sensors that provide better dynamic range
(Foveon sensor, pls collaborate with more digicam players,
or sell it to Sony, or Nikon, or Panasonic for wider propagation
of its rather good technology)
5) Digi cam can handle low-light competently (w/o flash).
E.g. acceptable performance for ISO 1600 or even 3200
for a portable form factor such as Sony T3, or Contax i4r
with impressive shutter response time and accurate AF (think Hologram AF
and nigh framing)

Dream candidate: Minox to come out with a 5mb resolution, quick startup,
fast fixed lens of German heritage (think of 38mm f1.8) ,
little shutter lag, very portable,
anti-shake or OIS or VR or IS whatever,
with option for wireless slave flash and
using SD card, all within S$500

:bsmilie: ;p :cool: