What is the must place to visit in Melbourne?

If you intend to book tours to bring you around Melbourne (e.g. great ocean road etc), this is what you should do. Get a backpackers card and go to a backpackers place to look for brochures (its also available at the tourst info at Federation square - but less variety at Fed sq). The tours are about 40% - 50% cheaper. You will end u getting up the same tour bus as those paying the "full fare". Do note that the flyers/brochures are only available at certain spots cos it is for backpackers and u need to show the backpackers card (not sure if they check expiry date though).

swiftdragon said:
If you intend to book tours to bring you around Melbourne (e.g. great ocean road etc), this is what you should do. Get a backpackers card and go to a backpackers place to look for brochures (its also available at the tourst info at Federation square - but less variety at Fed sq). The tours are about 40% - 50% cheaper. You will end u getting up the same tour bus as those paying the "full fare". Do note that the flyers/brochures are only available at certain spots cos it is for backpackers and u need to show the backpackers card (not sure if they check expiry date though).

if i am not wrong, it used to call HALF TIX.. buy ticket at cheaper price.. buy now go tomolo kinda of arrangement..

its good if u dun like driving but i prefer to rent car.. can stop anywhere anytime i like.. u cant ask the driver to stop at 'A' cos the landscape is nice.. hehe :bsmilie:

swiftdragon said:

DUring lunch, my mel friend went to take the flyers/ brochures for backpackers liao.. so efficient ;D

k3nn3th03 said:
if i am not wrong, it used to call HALF TIX.. buy ticket at cheaper price.. buy now go tomolo kinda of arrangement..

its good if u dun like driving but i prefer to rent car.. can stop anywhere anytime i like.. u cant ask the driver to stop at 'A' cos the landscape is nice.. hehe :bsmilie:

i think i will rent car for 3 days to go countryside :)...

By the way.. i am thinking to buy travel insurance.

Any good and cheap one to recommend? pai sei.. i hardly go for long holiday.. so never buy before :(

Haze said:
By the way.. i am thinking to buy travel insurance.

Any good and cheap one to recommend? pai sei.. i hardly go for long holiday.. so never buy before :(

I got one from AIG when I went China...$48...

Hi Haze, when are you going? I have booked my trip to Melbourne from 26th Apr to 5th May. Actually had this similar post in another thread but anyway, just to share some of my plans with you below ;)

It will be a free and easy self drive trip with my wife spending 9 days over there (bit short but that is all i can spare ;p ).

Day 1: Reach Melbourne in the morning, check in hotel and explore Melbourne City
Day 2: Pick up car and drive to Yarra's Valley, go for wine appreciation and explore further
Day 3: Leave Yarra's Valley by late morning and head for Mornington Peninsular. Explore strawberry farm, spa, Arthur's chairlift or Cape Schank lighthouse
Day 4: Leave Mornington, take ferry across to Queenscliff, and head towards great ocean road. Reach Apollo Bay by evening
Day 5: Continue drive down across Cape Otway, 12 apostles and reach Warnambool by evening.
Day 6: Head for Grampians NP, and explore for there for rest of day
Day 7: Leave for Ballarat/Gold mining town and explore for rest of the day.
Day 8: Head back to Melbourne city and do last min shopping.
Day 9: Return car and head back to Singapore

For those who are there before, care to comment on my planned itenery? Like in each town which place is worth visiting! Thanks in advance!

i miss melbourne. was there for only approx 10days 2 years ago, but it left a deep impression in me and it's the kind of city that i want to stay in (i never like sg anyway)..

now that i'm going through a rough patch of life now.. i yearn for a getaway :(

At Yarra, check out the vineyard by (Moet&)Chandon.. very classy place with variety of sparkling wines, both blanc and rouge..

At Bacchus Marsh, you can try tasting their assortment of honey and fruits, tho' they're famous for apples.. There's a winery called St Anne's Winery, good place to buy port and sweet wines.. Can try buying a flagon, or a wooden cask, if weight is not an issue..

Just before the viewing gallery to 12 Apostles, look out for the sign that says "Gibbson's Steps" (sp?).. It allows you to walk along the coast during low tide.. Great angle to get low shots of the rock structures.. Of course, take heed of the WARNING signs posted around.. Falling rocks, unstable cliff etc...

At Grampians, stay at Hall's Gap.. The roos come out by the dozens in evenings, and there's a cafe at edge of town with good view of the action with simple meal for abt A$10 (then in Dec03 lah).. Sometimes can spot echidnas lumbering in the brush.. Also trek about to the Pinnacle, but watch your footing and bring water for the walk...

At Ballarat, u could stay a night at the "Governor's House" (erm.. can't rem name) ; you can also get a 2-day pass (if i rem rt) to the mining town via the backgate... Can try booking a dinner with Sound&Light Show thrown-in, it'll bring to another part of the town you can't access by foot..

In Melbourne itself, there's usually a small weekend festival market under the bridge along the Yarra, near the Crowne Casino.. I got some good handicraft from there..Check it out if you can afford the time..

Driving in Melbourne city, you will encounter the Hook-Turn.. Basically, the trams run through the city, so if you wanna turn right at a junction, you first have to hook left to let the trams pass, then turn right... Sounds strange? Just go observe how the Aussies do it, before you try..

Also, when booking a car, check with the counter staff what time you have to return it.. Some companies run on 24hr rentals (ie: rent at 10am, return before 10am..), whereas others are on a whole-day basis.. When driving, watch out for those nasty humps that lead-in/out of carparks or sideroads... I scratched the underside of my bumper, costing A$200 repairs...

Just my say... Have Fun!! ;)

Vic market, draculas. the great ocean road. if u want u may stop by philips island.:)

yehosaphat said:
Hi Haze, when are you going? I have booked my trip to Melbourne from 26th Apr to 5th May. Actually had this similar post in another thread but anyway, just to share some of my plans with you below ;)

It will be a free and easy self drive trip with my wife spending 9 days over there (bit short but that is all i can spare ;p ).

Day 1: Reach Melbourne in the morning, check in hotel and explore Melbourne City
Day 2: Pick up car and drive to Yarra's Valley, go for wine appreciation and explore further
Day 3: Leave Yarra's Valley by late morning and head for Mornington Peninsular. Explore strawberry farm, spa, Arthur's chairlift or Cape Schank lighthouse
Day 4: Leave Mornington, take ferry across to Queenscliff, and head towards great ocean road. Reach Apollo Bay by evening
Day 5: Continue drive down across Cape Otway, 12 apostles and reach Warnambool by evening.

For those who are there before, care to comment on my planned itenery? Like in each town which place is worth visiting! Thanks in advance!

Bro, Arthur's Seat Chairlift is a must! Great view of Dormana from the chair!

Cape Otway is another beautiful National Park... As for the Grampians, you cannot see it in a day... plan two days instead. Visit Boroka's Lookout, the Balconies and Reed's lookout. Climb Mt Abrupt and Mt William... no regrets, I tell ya.

I would skip Ballarat, not very interesting.

Haze said:
Hi Philip, remember me .. :p we talk in WLC thread before.. and your wife... expert in baking eheh :D.. how is she? Long time never see her talk to us :p.. tell her we miss her :)..

Thank you very much for the precious info... i have roughly Noted down.. too bad at office cannot see the website :( .. got to go home and see ur homepage :D.
May i know why is Rosebud a sleepy town? very greeny? I want to go to a greeny field lay down there and see sunset ;D..

Hi Haze... thanks I will tell my wife. :)

I stayed in my timeshare apartment in Rosebud... very countryside. Great feeling... Lots of horse farms around that area. Very near to Strawberry Farm and the Cape Schank Lighthouse... Read my travelogue for more details.

Hope you get some ideas from my travelogue...

yehosaphat said:

~
hey.. i am going there on 21 April to 2 May ;D... maybe we go to Great Ocean Road together? Gee....

Your plan is so detail.. mine is messy as my friend not yet confirm how many days leave she will take :sweat:

boroangel said:
I got one from AIG when I went China...$48...

ah... thanks :).. will check out AIG :).. but NTUC is it cheaper? same package?

behyx said:
i miss melbourne. was there for only approx 10days 2 years ago, but it left a deep impression in me and it's the kind of city that i want to stay in (i never like sg anyway)..

now that i'm going through a rough patch of life now.. i yearn for a getaway :(

Why dun like our country.. to me so far so good :)... maybe after melbourne trip i will have same thinking with u kekeke

Ally said:
At Yarra, check out the vineyard by (Moet&)Chandon.. very classy place with variety of sparkling wines, both blanc and rouge..

At Bacchus Marsh, you can try tasting their assortment of honey and fruits, tho' they're famous for apples.. There's a winery called St Anne's Winery, good place to buy port and sweet wines.. Can try buying a flagon, or a wooden cask, if weight is not an issue..

Just before the viewing gallery to 12 Apostles, look out for the sign that says "Gibbson's Steps" (sp?).. It allows you to walk along the coast during low tide.. Great angle to get low shots of the rock structures.. Of course, take heed of the WARNING signs posted around.. Falling rocks, unstable cliff etc...

At Grampians, stay at Hall's Gap.. The roos come out by the dozens in evenings, and there's a cafe at edge of town with good view of the action with simple meal for abt A$10 (then in Dec03 lah).. Sometimes can spot echidnas lumbering in the brush.. Also trek about to the Pinnacle, but watch your footing and bring water for the walk...

At Ballarat, u could stay a night at the "Governor's House" (erm.. can't rem name) ; you can also get a 2-day pass (if i rem rt) to the mining town via the backgate... Can try booking a dinner with Sound&Light Show thrown-in, it'll bring to another part of the town you can't access by foot..

In Melbourne itself, there's usually a small weekend festival market under the bridge along the Yarra, near the Crowne Casino.. I got some good handicraft from there..Check it out if you can afford the time..

Driving in Melbourne city, you will encounter the Hook-Turn.. Basically, the trams run through the city, so if you wanna turn right at a junction, you first have to hook left to let the trams pass, then turn right... Sounds strange? Just go observe how the Aussies do it, before you try..

Also, when booking a car, check with the counter staff what time you have to return it.. Some companies run on 24hr rentals (ie: rent at 10am, return before 10am..), whereas others are on a whole-day basis.. When driving, watch out for those nasty humps that lead-in/out of carparks or sideroads... I scratched the underside of my bumper, costing A$200 repairs...

Just my say... Have Fun!! ;)

Hi Ally,

Thank you very much... just got news.. mostly like will join their backpackers tour.:rolleyes:

philliptan said:
Hi Haze... thanks I will tell my wife. :)

I stayed in my timeshare apartment in Rosebud... very countryside. Great feeling... Lots of horse farms around that area. Very near to Strawberry Farm and the Cape Schank Lighthouse... Read my travelogue for more details.

Hope you get some ideas from my travelogue...

Hi Philips... thanks... i think no need to plan liao.. my friend said rent car to travel out too tiring and dangerous.. so we will join the backpackers tour :)

We should be joining the below tour.

Great Ocean Road Boomerang
Melbourne to Melbourne 3 Day Tour AUD175 per pax

* World Famous Great Ocean Road
* Walk/ Hike through the Grampians
* Sunset at the 12 Apostles
* Mackenzie Falls & the jaws of Death
* Bells Beach & the surf Coast
* Experience Aboriginal Culture
* Wildlife Guaranteed!
* Unique Exlusive Overnight stays

Day 1: Set off on the epic three days adventure by heading to the vast expanses of the Grampians Mountain Ranges. Stretch your legs in the aw inspiring Wonderland Ranges before enjoying Lunch in the charming Town of Halls Gap. Spend time discovering the history and culture of local Aboriginal communities at the interactive Brambuk Aboriginal Cultural Centre. Hike to the exhilarating Mackenzie Falls, and enjoy breathtaking views of the jaws of Death. Exclusive to Autopia Tours, stay overnight at a unique wilderness lodge, located in the heart of Grampians.

Day 2: Today enjoy one of the world's oldest and most spectacular mountain ranges, while hiking to the panoramic Pinnacles lookout. Then, heading south towards the coastm we explore a unique sunken volcano at Tower Hilll and see cute koalas, kangaroos and emus in their natural environment. Take in thrilling coastal views and stunning rock formations at the bay of islands. Bay of Martyrs and London Bridge. Experience sunset at the world-renowned 12 apostles, before settling into out hostel in the vibrant fishing town of Port Campbell.

Day 3: Cruise down the Great OCean Road and see the 12 Apostles in the morning light, as well as host of other stunning natural features such as Loch Ard Gorge and the Island Archway. Take a walk through the ancient Rain forest of the Otway National Park and visit the seaside towns of Lorne and Apollo Bay. Enjoy a Swim at one of the inviting Beaches before checking ou the suft at the famous bells beach, the venue for a world sufring title.

Price not include accomdation and meals