What film to use?

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kllee

I'll be trying my luck shooting at the Singapore Youth Fest tomorrow. It should bright sunshine and a kaleidescope of colour, so what film should I use? My gut feeling tells me Kodak Max 400 for vibrancy. Your advice? Also need advice on filter: the bright glare will be a problem, so what sort of filter should I be using?

I know they're kiddishly easy questions, but I'm a newbie still on his hands and knees! :D

Cheers!

Originally posted by kllee
I'll be trying my luck shooting at the Singapore Youth Fest tomorrow. It should bright sunshine and a kaleidescope of colour, so what film should I use? My gut feeling tells me Kodak Max 400 for vibrancy. Your advice? Also need advice on filter: the bright glare will be a problem, so what sort of filter should I be using?

I know they're kiddishly easy questions, but I'm a newbie still on his hands and knees! :D

Cheers!

Avoid Avoid Avoid Kodak MAX 400 unless you want super big grain. Try the Fuji films instead. If it's that bright, then use Superia 200. Filters actually increase the chance of flare, don't really need anything other than the UV protective filter anyway.

Regards
CK

Hmm... Kodak Max 400 is one negative that we all try to avoid here... I'd use Fuji superia xtra 400 instead. As for the glare, perhaps a polariser would help?

Wow! Never expected the replies to be coming in so quick! Just as I'm gonna be leaving the office soon too! Thanks guys!

As I'll be going to normal photo lab later, I suppose they'll only have the normal Superia film, so I suppose I'll have to go with that.

Another question: I've always placed my faith in Fuji and it's never failed me before, esp when it comes to scenery shots. But to me, that's natural 'cos Fujis pick up the green spectrum of light best, so I'd think that Kodak would bring out the vibrancy. Please enlighten my puny photographic brain, thanks! :D

Originally posted by ziploc