forward

May 27, 2002
What does human rights mean to you?
The media had asked for an answer from the public that it is better
for the silent majority to speak up and discuss among ourselves for a better future.

1. Why must you know about human rights?

2. At what age must you know about human rights?

3. What are the implications of human rights in the country you live in?

4. Is there any interesting things you must know about human rights in Singapore?

5. What exactly are human rights and why it is so important to being a
lawful citizen of the country you live in?

6. Must we be better educated in order to know and understand these rights?

7. There seems to be an example of an exchange for rights to security and
economic well-being, to afforable health care and education in exchange for
freedom of expression and unqualified freedom of assembly. Is this true now
as there isn't any more affordable health care or economic well-being for the poor.
If you don't work, you have to suffer or die, so to say.
(Please correct me if I am wrong here)

:think:

This don't apply here when your son only worth a couple of thousand dollars if he was kill during NS.:angry: What kind of F%$@ing bull $hit is that..

so what should our garmen do or give when your son is killed during NS?

when your son is killed during NS i hope they could do better than that.:thumbsd:

alright, what i meant to say was, what should the garmen do when any soldier, who is the son to a father and mother out there? what should the garmen do, or give? to what extent is it only enough?

no offence bro, dun mean to curse anyone. absolutely no intents there.

alright, what i meant to say was, what should the garmen do when any soldier, who is the son to a father and mother out there? what should the garmen do, or give? to what extent is it only enough?

no offence bro, dun mean to curse anyone. absolutely no intents there.

Should this be the only son this parents have and is depending on him when old age, shouldn't the garmen provide them until they move on..

Our discussion will not have any effect on the garmen policy so i think is a waste of time to discuss.

We have aSpeaker corner, does that consider HUMAN RIGHT.:rolleyes:

u are right bro, where got human right here ? Just follow the garmen say lar... and keep you mouth shut... then you are perfectly safe.

will this thread evolve into a politics thread and be closed later?

cannot talk about religion, politics in CS is a form of human rights? :bsmilie:

i feel very tempted to post the one nation link from youtube...

will this thread evolve into a politics thread and be closed later?

cannot talk about religion, politics in CS is a form of human rights? :bsmilie:

some can, others cannot? :think:

got "close 1 eye" policy in CS? :bsmilie:

some can, others cannot? :think:

got "close 1 eye" policy in CS? :bsmilie:

If all things are going to the form of reality
we cannot live in prayer and constant contemplation.

For only in contemplation of all created thoughts and things
only then can we slowly been taking steps so we may ascent to
the Creator of all things.

:):cool:

Humans always fight for rights and it is only a normal group behavior.

But what lies beneath is that some activists have their bad or commercial or political motives.

Hence, do what you think is right, but dont follow what others think is right.

What is right or wrong is judged by Heaven. Not humans.

On the dot when we only learn to see the ugliness we see in others.
In fact it is a reflection of our own nature.

In today's context and lifestyle what Aristole
told us holds seeming truth.

That "the ultimate value of life depends
upon awareness and the power of contemplation
rather than upon mere survival".

------------------------------------------
"Those who when young show no
respect to their elders achieve nothing
worth mentioning when they grow up.
And merely to live on, getting older
and older, is to be a useless pest"
- Confucianism

If all things are going to the form of reality
we cannot live in prayer and constant contemplation.

For only in contemplation of all created thoughts and things
only then can we slowly been taking steps so we may ascent to
the Creator of all things.

Humans always fight for rights and it is only a normal group behavior.

But what lies beneath is that some activists have their bad or commercial or political motives.

Hence, do what you think is right, but dont follow what others think is right.

What is right or wrong is judged by Heaven. Not humans.

wad has ascending to the Creator of all things & Heaven gotta do with human rights?

On the dot when we only learn to see the ugliness we see in others.
In fact it is a reflection of our own nature.

In today's context and lifestyle what Aristole
told us holds seeming truth.

That "the ultimate value of life depends
upon awareness and the power of contemplation
rather than upon mere survival".

------------------------------------------
"Those who when young show no
respect to their elders achieve nothing
worth mentioning when they grow up.
And merely to live on, getting older
and older, is to be a useless pest"
- Confucianism

lifestyle choices & human rights are 2 very different things. hmmm, wad has contemplation achieved? :rolleyes:

We are not what we know.
We are what we are willing to learn.

Therefore isn't things like human rights
are the thoughts of human beings -
a worklife culture?

The integretion and the ability to
achieve worklife balance are the goals
of human beings.

Isn't Ultimate Reality really want to see
people with low spirits where their days
appears dark, when their work becomes
monotonous and so on?

---------------------------------
Looks like to choose a balance
in life is almost the same to having
rights but what about the poverty
driven masses around the world
who are almost dying, don't they
wants their rights too or their
choice of lifestyle?

:think::)

worklife balance is a modern catchword.... :sweat:

in reality humans' goals are as diverse as can be, that below a huge claim...

The integretion and the ability to
achieve worklife balance are the goals
of human beings.

:think::)

so much for...

However we may have to discover the power of
contemplation not only embraces awareness....

In SG, human rights is wateva the garman give u lor!

Wateva garman nvr give one all are not part of your human rights.

And that translates to.... Traffic offence summon, ERP, GST, Income Tax, Road Tax, COE, ARF, TV license and whatnot are all HUMAN RIGHTS....

Not to forget an increasingly competitive society & a stressful life....

But of course, subsidy, grants, tax relief, oso HUMAN RIGHTS lor.... ( juz that nvr place as much emphasis on it onli)

So, what's not HUMAN RIGHTS?? Eh, ang pow$$, pocket $$, salary$$, $$ to buy your camera.....

Money makes the world goes round....