What digital camera ahs the function to let you choose where you want to focus on?


Status
Not open for further replies.

AstralPrue

New Member
Jan 28, 2002
220
0
0
West
Visit site
I think Canon G2 has that function, which other cameras have that function?
 

LifeWorld

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
2,324
0
36
East Coast
lifeworld.multiply.com
Originally posted by AstralPrue
I think Canon G2 has that function, which other cameras have that function?
the C2100UZ has manual focus which allows you to set the distance to focus like at 1m,2m,3m, etc......
 

franciskc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
560
0
0
43
Earth
i believe those above 1.1k sgd got such functions... if dun have... screw the salesmen
 

mpenza

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
12,937
0
0
Singapore
www.instagram.com
as in different focussing points?

Casio QV2900UX does have it but it's via the BestShot modes.
 

roygoh

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
5,011
0
0
Northwest
Visit site
Nikon CP995 has 5 focus areas you can choose from. I always end up using just the centre of the frame and use focus lock then re-compose.
 

AstralPrue

New Member
Jan 28, 2002
220
0
0
West
Visit site
Originally posted by roygoh
Nikon CP995 has 5 focus areas you can choose from. I always end up using just the centre of the frame and use focus lock then re-compose.
thanks, and that is the optimum way of doing it right? what do you mean by re-compose?
 

Flare

New Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,734
0
0
39
Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
public.fotki.com
Well, The Minolta 5 gives you 256 location (i think) to spot focus on. Lock and recompose means placing the point you want to focus in the center and focus normally by half-pressing the shutter. Most camera will lock the focus at this stage, i.e. the focus won't change even if you move. Then, you move your camera to compose/frame/take the picture the way you want. This is usually faster and simpler compared to selecting the AF point. (Imagine having to press 80 times on the arrow keys to get to the spot you want).
 

AstralPrue

New Member
Jan 28, 2002
220
0
0
West
Visit site
Originally posted by Flare
Well, The Minolta 5 gives you 256 location (i think) to spot focus on. Lock and recompose means placing the point you want to focus in the center and focus normally by half-pressing the shutter. Most camera will lock the focus at this stage, i.e. the focus won't change even if you move. Then, you move your camera to compose/frame/take the picture the way you want. This is usually faster and simpler compared to selecting the AF point. (Imagine having to press 80 times on the arrow keys to get to the spot you want).
Oh, you mean even with continuous focus mode on, the camera focus will still be locked? i din eexperiment with my camera enuff. :cry:
 

Flare

New Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,734
0
0
39
Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
public.fotki.com
Originally posted by AstralPrue


Oh, you mean even with continuous focus mode on, the camera focus will still be locked? i din eexperiment with my camera enuff. :cry:
Hmmm... WHich camera are you referring to? If you are using continuous AF, then lock and recompose will not work. Half pressing the shuttle will usually engage the Continuous AF and the forcus starts swiming back and forth and continuous AF isn't that fantastic due to digital camera's slow AF compared to SLR (I really miss that <1 sec AF of SLRs). Another way of focusing on off center sunjects would be doing it manually.
 

AstralPrue

New Member
Jan 28, 2002
220
0
0
West
Visit site
Originally posted by Flare


Hmmm... WHich camera are you referring to? If you are using continuous AF, then lock and recompose will not work. Half pressing the shuttle will usually engage the Continuous AF and the forcus starts swiming back and forth and continuous AF isn't that fantastic due to digital camera's slow AF compared to SLR (I really miss that <1 sec AF of SLRs). Another way of focusing on off center sunjects would be doing it manually.
I am currently using a G1. So i should switch off the continous AF?
 

Klause

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
1,417
0
0
36
Bedok
Visit site
Originally posted by AstralPrue


I am currently using a G1. So i should switch off the continous AF?
Continous AF is really useless to me (C700uz owner).. waste battery =p. You can always half-press the shuttle to focus when you need to take the shot. Don't have to focus everytime..
 

Flare

New Member
Jan 24, 2002
1,734
0
0
39
Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
public.fotki.com
Originally posted by Klause


Continous AF is really useless to me (C700uz owner).. waste battery =p. You can always half-press the shuttle to focus when you need to take the shot. Don't have to focus everytime..
Agree.
 

Paladin

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
723
2
18
50
SGP
Visit site
Originally posted by AstralPrue


I am currently using a G1. So i should switch off the continous AF?
Yep..I think you should off the AF. Mine is always off on my G2..find that it is a waste of battery life too...
 

Jayan

New Member
Jan 18, 2002
1,338
0
0
Hougang, SG
Visit site
Originally posted by Klause


Continous AF is really useless to me (C700uz owner).. waste battery =p. You can always half-press the shuttle to focus when you need to take the shot. Don't have to focus everytime..
Same here with the C-2100uz.

There's always the AE/AF lock and manual focus modes to depend on where u need to take fast action shots w/o wasting time on the AF.
 

actioneer

New Member
Jan 31, 2002
20
0
0
Singapore
Visit site
Originally posted by roygoh
Nikon CP995 has 5 focus areas you can choose from. I always end up using just the centre of the frame and use focus lock then re-compose.
Hi just to mention that Nikon 885 also has the feature mentioned above:)
 

roygoh

Senior Member
Jan 18, 2002
5,011
0
0
Northwest
Visit site
Originally posted by AstralPrue


thanks, and that is the optimum way of doing it right? what do you mean by re-compose?
In you intended composition, if the subject is off-centred and the camera only focus at the object at the centre of the frame, you would:
1. place the subject in the centre first,
2. half press and hold the shutter release to activate the focusing
3. keep the shutter release half-pressed to maintain the focusing distance (focuis lock)
4. then change the camera angle back to the original intended angle (re-compose)

Most camera user manuals will explain about this.

For cameras with multiple focusing points, that may not be the optimum way to focus. It is a matter of preference. I am used to the focusing lock method, and find that it is not much more of an effort over changing the focusing point,. That's why I seldom use the additional focusing points on the CP995.

Hope that helps.

-Roy
 

Status
Not open for further replies.