What can you do with a dry box that does not work anymore?


Mascaporne

New Member
Dec 6, 2009
74
0
0
41
#1
I have a dry box, for some reason it does not control humidity anymore...
Is there any way to repair? or just buy new ones?

What do you guys typically do?
 

luckyorange

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2011
2,839
0
0
Ang Mo Kio
#3
erm send it back to service center? if not buy a new 1 and throw the old 1 away
 

wonglp

Moderator
Staff member
Jul 20, 2007
6,794
65
48
Bukit Batok
#4
Mascaporne said:
I have a dry box, for some reason it does not control humidity anymore...
Is there any way to repair? or just buy new ones?

What do you guys typically do?
See the dehumifier unit model and google for the spare part?
 

Last edited:

Reportage

Senior Member
Nov 24, 2008
5,785
2
0
#5
I have a dry box, for some reason it does not control humidity anymore...
Is there any way to repair? or just buy new ones?

What do you guys typically do?
If you are referring to Digicabi type of drybox and have lost the receipt. use the unit serial number and send to the distributor. Digicabi is 5 years warranty so in the event no receipt, they will simply take the delivery date to the shop you bought the digicabi from.
 

nostagia

Deregistered
Jun 21, 2005
174
0
0
#6
If its a Digicabi, just unscrew, take out unit and go to their factory and get a replacement.
 

Last edited:

karnage

New Member
Feb 26, 2005
1,325
0
0
35
Ang Mo Kio
#7
I had my dry cabinet spoil on me before. What worked for me was to look at the power adapter, note the output amperage and voltage, and go to Sim Lim Tower to look for one with the right plug, right amperage, and right voltage output. Brand doesn't matter here. It could have been an old laptop adapter, or an old vacuum cleaner charger... as long as the output is the same, there should be no problems. And well, it worked, and now, it's passed to my friend for use.

The adapter cost me $8.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#8
is a dry box right?

I'm not sure who able to service a dry box, so why don't just use it for any other purpose,
time to upgrade to dry cabinet.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,490
26
48
Pasir Ris
#9
A dry box does not control anything, you have to control the hygrometer and maintain the Silica gel. So:
- Does the hygrometer not work anymore?
- Does the rubber not close tightly anymore so that outside air comes in?
- Did you hear about maintaining / changing Silica gel? :)
Spend a few more lines explaining and the advice will be more precise.
 

Jun 10, 2011
266
0
16
#10
I'm using a drybox now. This drybox is storing my previous d7k, 18-105, 50mm 1.8 and currently, my d600 and 24-85. I have no problems with my dry box for 2.8 years now.

I don't care if humidity meter is doing it's job or not. I just gathered all silica gels from different appliance boxes given to me and slap it inside my drybox. My equipment is now sitting under different packages of silica gels.

Every time I opened my box, the smell of freshly made plastic/metal/brand new item blows me away...... (fffhhhhmmmm........ ahhhhhhhhh exquisite :confused:)
 

Last edited:

shierwin

Senior Member
Dec 29, 2008
3,435
8
38
East Coast
#11
You need to know how to manage dry box with silica gel.
Those "del" packs you collected to date are totally useless, by now.
Time to get a dry cab.......b4 the gears get infested... and repair cost much more
 

01dsk001

New Member
Jun 2, 2008
271
0
0
East
#12
Thirsty Hippo works for me. Just expose about 1/3 of the seal, and adjust according to your desired humidity levels... (I have mine at 50%).
 

agws1970

New Member
Sep 9, 2002
365
0
0
47
North East Singapore
Visit site
#14
I am surprised no one suggests this. Buy new one with same size footprint, stack on top of new one and store flashes, remotes, grips and rechargeable batteries with their chargers.
 

Top Bottom