Voigtlander Heliar-Hyper Wide 10mm f5.6 E-mount - The Widest Lens, Ever

chipvn

Aug 26, 2010
Being a fan of super wide lens, I could not resist myself to pull the trigger after knowing that it is available at my hometown distributor.
As a amateur, I don't want to make this thread as a formal review (which I believe I could not up there yet). Just want to make it as a sharing thread about this lens and some photos taken by it and my Sony A7RII. Therefore, there will be no lens chart or brick wall shooting. There will be also no 100% crop at extreme corner for pixel peeping. Just some user thought, experience with the lens.

Firstly, here is some specs which I copied from Cameraquest for those who want to know.

Focal Length10mm
Maximum ApertureF5.6
Minimum ApertureF22
Lens Construction10 Groups 13 Elements
Angle of View130°
Aperture Blade10
Minimum Focus0.3m
Maximum DiameterΦ67.8mm
Length73.8mm
Weight371g
Electrical ContactAvailable
Manual Focus AssistAvailable
MountE-mount
Filter sizeDNA
Standard EquipmentFront Cap (Pressure Fit)
Rear Cap
OtherIntegrated Petal Hood
Aperture Control System

And these are the lens mounted on Sony A7RII:

27322007240_33d07fc9c4_b.jpg

27599307715_5eb6b19afa_b.jpg

It is easy to see that there is no filter thread and currently there is no filter holder solution available yet for this lens

Last edited:
Being a widest lens ever, the tiny size of the lens is really amazing.

Here is how it compares with the 2 other Voigtlander M mount lens: the Ultron 21/1.8 and the Heliar-Ultra Wide 12/5.6 V2:

26988994564_57caeb731f_b.jpg

And here is how it compares with the Zeiss FE 16-35/4 zoom lens:

27526400641_618b10b0d6_b.jpg