Vista or XP

Is Windows Vista an improvement over Windows XP?


Results are only viewable after voting.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mohgui

Senior Member
Jan 31, 2005
1,294
0
0
La La Land
#2
Vista sucks if your hardware do not meet the recommended requirements :thumbsd:
 

Loupisk

New Member
Nov 8, 2005
1,161
0
0
AMK life
www.modelmayhem.com
#3
Vista sucks :

It asks you five times if you are sure of what you want to do. It does that every five minute. Damn irritating.

Many software are not compatible with vista.
If they are they still give you problems.
Many hardware are not compatible.

I see no improvement in the use of it. WHY SHOULD I PAY FOR THIS???????

The setting are not as easy as XP. You really have to search for them. Everything is hidden in a Vista logic world that is not logic to me or my friends.:thumbsd:

I will NEVER buy vista at a personnal level. We have it in the office. IT SUCKS !!!!!!!:thumbsd:
 

Feb 20, 2004
497
0
0
33
#4
You would need a comfortably good hardware from a core2duo and 1 Gig Ram (Entry). :)

Other than that, there is a difference in file handling and saving. :)
 

Galdor

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2006
9,544
0
0
Planet Gaia
s105.photobucket.com
#5
My friend & I are having problems with Vista. eg. (there are certain site where we cannot access). I can't access ClubSnap & Yahoo Mail using my Vista at home. Heard that some of them cannot even perform internet banking transactions.

Vista SUCKS BIG TIME! :angry:
 

Dec 14, 2003
808
0
0
37
Toa Payoh
Visit site
#9
Yup, they should scrap that piece of S**t. I'm thinking of moving back to XP too.
I am on xp 64bit.............smooth as hell.............hehe.

8GB of ECC rams sitting on my TYAN MB together with 2 X 73GB SAS HDD (15K) on RAID 0. Using XEON Quad Core Channel E5335 (2.0 Ghz).

Will not change to VISTA permanently. One of my friends who bought a Ultimate VISTA version but threw it into the rubbish bin the very next day after he had so much problems with the 64bit version. Complain loads of **** to Microsoft for 2 hours on the phone and finally gave him a special XP 64bit copy(not sold in the market). Hehe.........
 

Parka

Senior Member
Nov 18, 2005
1,067
5
38
Singapore, Singapore
plus.google.com
#11
I was using my friends Vista a while back and was finding it really unnecessary for the multiple pop ups to ask for permission to do something.

Be the action good or bad, Vista should be able to secure itself without asking all those questions.
 

Pablo

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2004
1,854
0
0
Blue/Green Planet
#12
Hi,
A slight OT kind of question....

Apart from MAC OS, Windows, Unix and Linux .... keeping it with in reason, is there another OS that can be run on a PC .....:dunno:

I don't want to change over to a MAC, I have never found Linux to work well for me and Windows is now Vista.

Anything else to try :dunno:

Cheers :)
 

Galdor

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2006
9,544
0
0
Planet Gaia
s105.photobucket.com
#13
Hi,
A slight OT kind of question....

Apart from MAC OS, Windows, Unix and Linux .... keeping it with in reason, is there another OS that can be run on a PC .....:dunno:

I don't want to change over to a MAC, I have never found Linux to work well for me and Windows is now Vista.

Anything else to try :dunno:

Cheers :)
Go back to XP lor. Some shops still do it.
 

Galdor

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2006
9,544
0
0
Planet Gaia
s105.photobucket.com
#14
I am on xp 64bit.............smooth as hell.............hehe.

8GB of ECC rams sitting on my TYAN MB together with 2 X 73GB SAS HDD (15K) on RAID 0. Using XEON Quad Core Channel E5335 (2.0 Ghz).

Will not change to VISTA permanently. One of my friends who bought a Ultimate VISTA version but threw it into the rubbish bin the very next day after he had so much problems with the 64bit version. Complain loads of **** to Microsoft for 2 hours on the phone and finally gave him a special XP 64bit copy(not sold in the market). Hehe.........
Wah solid. I also want the XP 64bit leh.
 

Dec 14, 2003
808
0
0
37
Toa Payoh
Visit site
#15
Wah solid. I also want the XP 64bit leh.
You must know some basic configuration on the RAID plus as well fine tuning the BIOS for the system to work flawlessly. My CS3 is cap at 3.5GB of RAM......which runs super smooth.:bsmilie:

Configuring XP 64bit also take sometime too. Looking for drivers is like hell as some programs do not support OS 64bit even after so many years.

You can get XP 64bit in one and only shop in SLS. The only problem is I forgot which shop it's on either 3rd or 4th level. Price around SGD$250
 

CYRN

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2002
4,575
0
36
photoevangel.com
#16
Oot the ultimate juz for the fun of it. Other than the resource hog (that's why you need a pretty good hardware setup), it's pretty decent if you have admin rights. but once you go on restricted rights mode, it's hell to use.

Basically Vista is so idiot proof that it makes you looks like an idiot. :eek::sweat:
 

StreetShooter

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,634
0
0
Katong
streetshooter.clubsnap.org
#17
Thanks.

The window for getting a pre-installed XP is closing and I was wondering whether to upgrade my computer now (with XP pre-installed) or wait until I REALLY need to upgrade in a year or two, at which time I won't have any choice except Vista.

Guess you've all answered my question. I'm definitely sticking to XP and will be upgrading soon.
 

satay16

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2006
3,067
0
0
#19
what happened to those people who claimed "win 98 wins hands down over xp. period."?
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#20
I was using my friends Vista a while back and was finding it really unnecessary for the multiple pop ups to ask for permission to do something.

Be the action good or bad, Vista should be able to secure itself without asking all those questions.
you might want to try disable the parental control in vista, it does helps a lot.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom