Vintage look


Apr 12, 2010
32
0
0
29
#1
Hi

Newbie here.

I want to know if it is possible to capture those vintage look/feel using our DSLR. Softer colour etc.
 

Sispecho

New Member
Sep 11, 2006
451
0
0
Clementi
#2
If you are using an olympus, chances are that your camera might have built in art filters to give some sort of effect to your images.

If not then your camera might have settings to alter shooting profile to decrease saturation/sharpness and that sort, but the effect is limited.

Its best to post-process your image to get the look you want.
 

Apr 12, 2010
32
0
0
29
#5
hmm. post processing is quite tedious for a newbie like me. haha!
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,491
26
48
Pasir Ris
#6
I want to know if it is possible to capture those vintage look/feel using our DSLR. Softer colour etc.
Your camera will capture what is there, based on exposure settings. To change the appearance of the image you can either use in-camera processing settings (a.k.a. Picture Styles) or post-processing software. It doesn't need to be Photoshop, there are other options available, cheaper and easier to handle.
 

ovaltinemilo

Senior Member
Sep 12, 2009
2,819
0
0
Sin jia Po lah
#7
I got friends who said my Dslr very pro....because it can shoot vintage style photo:bsmilie::sweat:

*I'll be worried if it produce out of cam vintage photos when it has no digital filters*:bsmilie:
 

Apr 12, 2010
32
0
0
29
#8
i dont think my 550d comes with the in-camera processing setting because i cant seem to find it. haha!
 

Oct 19, 2009
1,669
0
0
#9
i dont think my 550d comes with the in-camera processing setting because i cant seem to find it. haha!
My friend is using the 500D, he just download the "LOMO" effect from the Canon Utilities and to the Camera.

I've personally not try it, but I'm going to try it soon, will update you guys once I've downloaded it and transfer to my camera.
 

S2S2S2

New Member
May 13, 2010
55
0
0
#10
the 500D picture style lomo effect is not exactly the perfect lomo effect.
i think software pp is still required for better results.
 

Oct 19, 2009
1,669
0
0
#11
the 500D picture style lomo effect is not exactly the perfect lomo effect.
i think software pp is still required for better results.
I agree with you. However, this lomo effect is just an additional value added feature to the camera
 

Ah_K

Senior Member
Aug 3, 2002
4,123
4
38
Singapore
www.enchantingkairos.com
#12
nowadays there's lots of filters/actions for photoshop that can help you to achieve your desired output all with a single (sometimes a few more) click of a button. do not get me wrong, they are not the best and proper way to edit a photo, but it gets the job done. Textured image, faded old photo image, cross-processed image, you name it you've got it. all you need to do, is google for the free actions!

Lightroom also has the same feature except they call it PRESETS over there.

So there ain't no excuse to not be able to produce such images, even if you are brand new to post processing.

if u want to learn how to achieve the effects manually.. well that's gonna take a much longer post and i don't think i will wanna venture into that haha
 

Apr 12, 2010
32
0
0
29
#14
My friend is using the 500D, he just download the "LOMO" effect from the Canon Utilities and to the Camera.

I've personally not try it, but I'm going to try it soon, will update you guys once I've downloaded it and transfer to my camera.

hmm.. how do u do that? download the "lomo" effect from canon utilities?
 

sinned79

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2009
10,868
3
0
Singapore
www.aboutlove.sg
#15
hmm.. how do u do that? download the "lomo" effect from canon utilities?
u can download custom picture styles (google for it) and use EOS utility to import it to your cam.

by default, your cam already got landscape, portrait, neutral, faithful, monochrome (b/w) etc.
 

Apr 12, 2010
32
0
0
29
#18
thx people! will try to download it. i got photoscape but i hardly utilize it. HAHA!
 

Top Bottom