Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?


Status
Not open for further replies.
May 6, 2007
135
0
16
59
Upper Thomson
#1
Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.

When using program mode exposure is correct.

I am using SB800 and Nikon D200 body.

Thanks for sharing.
 

Dec 10, 2008
1,732
0
0
26
Pasir Ris
#2
Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.
Aren't you already dictating your aperture setting in this mode?
 

Reportage

Senior Member
Nov 24, 2008
5,785
2
0
#3
Aperture priority is you choose the aperture while the camera onboard computer selects the rest.

borrow a few photography books from the nearest national library.
 

May 6, 2007
135
0
16
59
Upper Thomson
#4
Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

Scenario 1:
Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenaro 2:
Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenario 3:
Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Thanks for clarifying.
 

darrrrrrrrrr

Senior Member
Sep 19, 2006
3,209
5
38
30
Singapore
#5
Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

Scenario 1:
Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenaro 2:
Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenario 3:
Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Thanks for clarifying.
1/60 is not the sync speed.. it's more like 1/250, not sure what it is exactly for your d200

anyway yes the TTL will vary the flash power level to expose the foreground subject properly regardless of your aperture setting.

what i suggest is put your camera to Manual mode so that you can also vary the shutter speed. dragging the shutter (setting a longer shutter speed) will allow for ambient light to be captured, thus resulting in better foreground-background balance. this will help to avoid the deer-in-headlights look where the background is pitch-black.

hope this helps!
 

May 6, 2007
135
0
16
59
Upper Thomson
#6
darrrrrr... Thank you very much for your valuable tips... I will try it out.

Cheers.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#7
Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

Scenario 1:
Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenaro 2:
Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Scenario 3:
Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

Thanks for clarifying.
you can override the default lowest flash sync speed by set to slow sync mode, read you camera user manual.
 

azul123

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2004
2,776
0
0
Eastern Bloc
#8
Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.

When using program mode exposure is correct.

I am using SB800 and Nikon D200 body.

Thanks for sharing.
Read up on Sync Speed, if you desire the flash to follow your aperture. Look at the flash icon on the top LCD press flash button and rear dials to switch between the settings.

../azul123
 

Last edited:
May 16, 2009
138
0
0
Paris (FRANCE)
#9
you can override the default lowest flash sync speed by set to slow sync mode, read you camera user manual.
+1 with catchlights and azul123.

In Aperture Mode with Nikon D200 camera, the lowest flash sync speed is set on 1/60è s par default because they suppose you are newbie and have not good points of support when taking your picture. This limitation is to prevent from blurred results. To overide this limitation, see your instruction manual , at custom settings e2 , page 161 : http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/D200_en_noprint.pdf

Hope this help,
 

Last edited:

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#10
Read D200 manual page 161.

Custom setting e2 : Slowest Speed When Using Flash. You can reduce this and you'll see that it can vary according to the scene. :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom