Use Universal TV/VCR Remote For D50/70 Remote


Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 7, 2006
72
0
6
#1
Happen to have one of this Universal Remote bought from Gaint few months back at about $15 or so to replace my TV/DVD/VCR remotes all at the same time.
Learnt from the web that the infra-code of the D50 remote is similar to Sony and JVC devices.
Confirm & chopped. Now I have a TV/DVD/VCR/D50 remote that could fire my D50 across the room ;p

Here are the Details:
Brand/Model: PowerPac RM-1001 Universal Remote
Code to program: 298 or Sony VCR
Activation Button: Play

I am happy now, I got another use for my remote.



Just to share.
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#2
Hahaha :thumbsup: Good for you, but pity it would be too big to lug out for use on the streets.

Would look very cute pointing a TV remote at your camera with people looking :bsmilie: Innovative :thumbsup:
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#7
Koelsch said:
omfg this is sooo darn cute. taking a remote and shooting. whahaha. damn cool nowadays. what's next man? ;p
'CLAP' remote trigger.

Clap your hand to take picture :bsmilie: .

Regards,
Arto.
 

yyD70S

Senior Member
Dec 25, 2005
2,454
0
0
Singapore
#9
A $ more (maybe less) and you could have purchased the original Nikon Infrared Remote Control ML-L3 and with the added portability.
 

smallaperture

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2004
2,441
0
0
Catchment Area
#10
It would be fantastic if you can use the remote to trigger the D200, which requires an expensive dedicated remote to work, although I am still waiting eagerly to get that cam.
 

Feb 7, 2006
72
0
6
#11
:) well.... I got one laying at home, might as well make full use of it. Got a card size one I tuck somewhere, maybe I would use that to learn from this big ma-ma. Then I can use that for my photo outing.
 

Feb 7, 2006
72
0
6
#12
Most welcome, bro. If i not wrong, the "5" button also activate the shutter. Enjoy your added features on ur existing remote.
 

V

vince123123

Guest
#13
I thought the D200 doesn't have IR?

smallaperture said:
It would be fantastic if you can use the remote to trigger the D200, which requires an expensive dedicated remote to work, although I am still waiting eagerly to get that cam.
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#14
espn said:
Hahaha :thumbsup: Good for you, but pity it would be too big to lug out for use on the streets.

Would look very cute pointing a TV remote at your camera with people looking :bsmilie: Innovative :thumbsup:
Yeah.. I think so too.. :thumbsup:
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#15
yyD70S said:
A $ more (maybe less) and you could have purchased the original Nikon Infrared Remote Control ML-L3 and with the added portability.
Yeah.. The ML-L3 is not that expensive. Just about 2 rolls of slide film. You just need to shoot 72 shots with it and you know that it is already worth it.
 

HeWolf

New Member
Feb 25, 2003
389
0
0
50
Punggol 21
Visit site
#16
If you have the original remote, can try do a outdoor test to see which has a longer range?

The universal remote should be powered by 2 x AAA battery. Can remote from further? :dunno:
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#17
HeWolf said:
If you have the original remote, can try do a outdoor test to see which has a longer range?

The universal remote should be powered by 2 x AAA battery. Can remote from further? :dunno:
The ML-L3 can go about 25-30m.
 

yanyewkay

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2004
3,924
0
0
Cons digger.
#18
i tot the net ones are hoaxes.. cos I tried with all the remotes in my house also cannot work.. ahah
 

Feb 7, 2006
72
0
6
#19
yanyewkay said:
i tot the net ones are hoaxes.. cos I tried with all the remotes in my house also cannot work.. ahah
All instruction send by remotes run on diff coded infra-red signal, there are millions of configurations, just need to get the right one. ;p
If u own one of Sony VCR, maybe the remote could work on yours. ;)
 

#20
agreed with zapmonster. anyway, the idea works as i got the same remote and the code is for sony vcrs. So if u got a Sony vcr or tv remote with vcr control, it may work.

But i probably wouldn't bring a tv remote out for a photoshot =)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.