Use a K7 Camera To Convert DA*1650/50135 to a NON-SDM Lens


fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#1
The following trick only works w/ K7 camera. If you are using other cameras, please find ways to get into DEBUG mode here:
Debug mode

1. create a text file on your PC (with notepad or whatever text editor you have on your PC, type in the following:
[DEBUG_MODE EN]
[SCRIPT_EN_MODE EN]
[OPEN_DEBUG_MENU]

Remember to type a RETURN at the end of the last line above, then save it as "MODSET.474" (NOTE: not MODSET.474.txt!)

2. Copy the above MODSET.474 file to a newly formated SD card, under root directory (not a sub directory). Put the SD card in a K7 camera, but leave the SD card door open. Mount on a DA*1650 or DA*50135 lens, then turn on the camera (with the SD card door open!)

3. You'd see the camera is in DEBUG mode with DEBUG menu. Find this following menu item:
LENS ROM DAT CAMERA => SD
Use the 4-way button to select above menu, then press OK button to excute. The lens ROM (like a firmware for the lens) will be saved on the SD card.

4. Switch off the camera, take out the SD card and pop it in your PC. You'd see an addition file named as LENSEEP.LNS on the SD card. Open it up with a text editor software (Notepad will do), it'd be like the following:



Notice the 4th collum (marked as 03!), change all the "C0" under this collum to "80", as indicated in the above image. Do this to all the 8 sections, not just the first section.

NOTE: MAKE SURE TO HAVE A BACK UP FOR THIS FILE BEFORE YOU DO THE ABOVE MODIFICATION! JUST IN CASE YOU NEED TO RE-ENABLE THE LENS SDM MOTOR LATER ON.

Save the file to the same SD card, then do the above step 2 to enable DEBUG mode again.

5. When you are in DEBUG mode with the updated lens ROM file on the SD card, find the following menu item:
LENS ROM DAT SD => CAMERA
Use the 4-way button to select above menu, then press OK button to excute. The lens ROM should be written to the lens (not the camera).

You are almost done here :)

6. Take out the SD card, edit the "MODSET.474" file as following:
[DEBUG_MODE DIS]
[SCRIPT_EN_MODE DIS]

Make sure to type a RETURN at the end of the last line above, then save it as the same file name: "MODSET.474" (NOTE: not MODSET.474.txt!)

7. Put the SD card in the camera, leave SD card door open and switch on the camera as in above step 2. Your camera won't do anything (looks this way), and the camera would be out of DEBUG mode already.

8. Take out SD card and remove all the files you created or wrote on it (just format it if you like) on your PC, that's all. You'd have a DA*16-50 (or 50-135) lens which works like a non-SDM lens. And it'd work this way on any Pentax dSLR camera including the K01.

This is proven to be working on K7 w/ DA*16-50 and DA*50-135. But

TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK! MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING.

Have fun!
 

Last edited:

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#3
So is

[DEBUG_MODE EN]
[SCRIPT_EN_MODE EN]
[OPEN_DEBUG_MENU]
RETURN

To write in new file??
Yes, write it in TEXT file format and save it as "MODSET.474" (NOTE: not MODSET.474.txt!)
 

Last edited:
Nov 13, 2010
105
5
18
Queenstown
#4
Fengwei
Can you do it as a service for me? I can pay you a service charge. I tried with both my K10 & K20 using the K Tether method but can only reached the debug mode & can go no further. Didn't used my 16-50 for a year already
 

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#5
Fengwei
Can you do it as a service for me? I can pay you a service charge. I tried with both my K10 & K20 using the K Tether method but can only reached the debug mode & can go no further. Didn't used my 16-50 for a year already
Sure. Just buy me a beer, I can do this conversion on spot even before we finish the first beer ;)
 

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#7
AFAIK the only way to get into DEBUG mode w/ K5 is to use tethering software. You don't need to use K5 to convert your lens, just borrow a friend's K10D/K20D/Km/K7 to do the job. Won't take more than 10min including modification of the ROM file :)
 

jasonlel

Senior Member
Apr 9, 2010
590
0
16
39
Malaysia/Singapore
#8
AFAIK the only way to get into DEBUG mode w/ K5 is to use tethering software. You don't need to use K5 to convert your lens, just borrow a friend's K10D/K20D/Km/K7 to do the job. Won't take more than 10min including modification of the ROM file :)
Good IDEA! Any outing for this activity? :p
 

teruranse

New Member
Dec 19, 2006
463
0
0
#9
hi fengwei, when can I buy u a beer then?
 

teruranse

New Member
Dec 19, 2006
463
0
0
#11
The coming Sat outing? ;p

I think we can try to convert some SDM lenses during our beer session. If other guys are interested, please come alone. I need a K7 camera to do the job :)

Hmmm i dun have a K7 with me but I can bring along a laptop if you need.
 

sbc

Senior Member
Jun 27, 2005
1,090
4
38
West of Singapore
#13
I just tried it out on the DA*60-250 but not successful. Has anyone able to disable the SDM for the DA*60-250?
I borrowed a K10D ver 1.31. Dumped the Lens ROM to the SD card. Changed all 32 sets of C0 to 80 under column 03 (8 sections). Loaded it back to the lens.
It still focuses using SDM.
Confirmed that the ROM has been modified by dumping it back to the SD card and checking the files for 32 sets of 80.
 

cubicon

New Member
Jul 8, 2006
466
0
0
Choa Chu Kang
#14
why are you guys dumping the sdm ? because it is not working or convert before it fails ?
 

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#15
I just tried it out on the DA*60-250 but not successful. Has anyone able to disable the SDM for the DA*60-250?
I borrowed a K10D ver 1.31. Dumped the Lens ROM to the SD card. Changed all 32 sets of C0 to 80 under column 03 (8 sections). Loaded it back to the lens.
It still focuses using SDM.
Confirmed that the ROM has been modified by dumping it back to the SD card and checking the files for 32 sets of 80.
Hmm, how did you manage to get into debug mode w A K10D w v1.31 firmware? As far as I know only K10D w v1.3 and earlier firmware can get into debug mode:
Debug mode
 

sbc

Senior Member
Jun 27, 2005
1,090
4
38
West of Singapore
#18
why are you guys dumping the sdm ? because it is not working or convert before it fails ?
Just for fun I guess ;)
Yup! Just being curious. The SDM is still fine. Just want to see what's the screw drive is like for the DA*60-250. Part of the hobby right?
 

cubicon

New Member
Jul 8, 2006
466
0
0
Choa Chu Kang
#19
it's not like the mummification process where you can't turn it back to sdm right ?

I am thinking of getting the DA* 300mm down the road and is kinda confuse by all these ... lol
 

fengwei

Moderator
Staff member
Aug 25, 2004
14,462
12
0
Queenstown
www.pbase.com
#20
Push this thread up to the top again. Just in case you have some old SDM lenses which you feel AF is a bit slow, you can think about converting them to non-SDM lenses. AF w/ non-SDM lenses have improved a lot on K3, the difference (between SDM and non-SDM, same lens of course) is really HUGE.
 

Top Bottom