Urgent: Need some recommendations for Pub shoot

Sgdevilzz

May 16, 2010
i recently got an invitation as a photographer for an event in a pub/lounge. The place is very dark and i don't have a flash. Someone offered me an SB-600 flash but i will receive it only tomorrow during the event. I have never used flash guns before so need some recommended settings on this.

Also when taking photos with flash, is it wise to shoot with the flash pointing upwards (which ever direction) with a reflector card out or directly or using an Omni-bounce diffuser?

I'm not the event type so i'm very new to this thing. Experienced photographers please recommend me. Thanks :cheers:

By the way the event is tomorrow !

Since you haven't use a flash before, I suggest you set the flash to TTL. Bouncing the light off the ceiling is a good idea to diffuse the light but the problem is you have to make sure the ceiling is not very high. Direct flash maybe too harsh. Use an omnibounce for a more diffused lighting. SB600 maybe not be sufficient if it's too dark. In that case, try to bump up the ISO. HTH.

CMI is Criminal Mind Investigation... hehehehhe... for CS lingo is Cannot Make It...

i see thanks! :) in that case, TS is better off with a bounce card. i have no problem using my stofen though

If best you can shoot with a fast prime like 50/1.8 or faster lens. Increase the ISO. I'll shoot wide open for single subject.

Suggest you prepare a white bounce card to attach with the speedlight. Rotate flash head upwards.

Flash Settings: TTL, exposure compensation between -1 to -2EV, turn on AF-Assist Illuminator

Bring extra set of batteries. :)

When you bounce, do take note of the ceiling colour also... coloured/black ceilings will not give you very good outcome.

High ISO is the way to go for PUB shoots as you want to capture the ambience of the pub.... colourful spot light etc