Ultra-compact tripods - any good?

yeeth

May 9, 2010
Hey guys,
i'm new to photography and i've been thinking of getting a tripod for night shoots - i can't keep a camera perfectly still for 2s. As much as it's necessary, though, i don't really like the idea of carrying a tripod around.
Thus, i recently saw a super-compact tripod that folds to less than 20cm and can be extended to about 150cm. Does anyone have experience with this sort of tripod? I've tested it and it has no problems holding up the weight of my 450D and kit lens, but is it decently stable for long exposures? I'm not expecting it to be as stable as Manfrottos or Benros, but seeing as i prefer not to carry a big tripod out, is it worth the money?
Thanks!

Please take note, different tripods got different weght limitations.
Small tripods like u mention are sometimes only good for compact camera...

yup i brought my camera down to test, could handle the weight without toppling or tilting. Only thing i couldn't test was how stable it was.
Actually come to think of it, i should have taken a pic with the camera on the tripod and set a long shutter speed. oops D:

Hey guys,
i'm new to photography and i've been thinking of getting a tripod for night shoots - i can't keep a camera perfectly still for 2s. As much as it's necessary, though, i don't really like the idea of carrying a tripod around.
Thus, i recently saw a super-compact tripod that folds to less than 20cm and can be extended to about 150cm. Does anyone have experience with this sort of tripod? I've tested it and it has no problems holding up the weight of my 450D and kit lens, but is it decently stable for long exposures? I'm not expecting it to be as stable as Manfrottos or Benros, but seeing as i prefer not to carry a big tripod out, is it worth the money?
Thanks!

Benro had aluminium series which is very light too that u can get within $200.

go search in the mass sales section.

I'm skeptical...

Don't think it'll be any good.