[UK] I’m a Photographer, Not a Terrorist!

Status
Not open for further replies.

xtemujin

Apr 1, 2005
Singapura, Singapore
About

Photography is under attack. Across the country it that seems anyone with a camera is being targeted as a potential terrorist, whether amateur or professional, whether landscape, architectural or street photographer.

Not only is it corrosive of press freedom but creation of the collective visual history of our country is extinguished by anti-terrorist legislation designed to protect the heritage it prevents us recording.

This campaign is for everyone who values visual imagery, not just photographers.
We must work together now to stop this before photography becomes a part of history rather than a way of recording it.

http://photographernotaterrorist.org/

Hello, xtemujin.
It is an eye-opening report that you have brought.
Do you think it is happening in South-East Asia, especially back home here in Singapore?
Or has it already happened to a certain degree?

I can't tell. Not being in the industry, I have never been harassed despite sometimes carrying lots of equipment.

In Sg this rule appears to only apply to local or local-looking people. Foreigners, foreign-looking people, especially Caucasians rarely seem to be affected by this "law"... Anyway, no building owner or security guard can stop anyone from taking pics of anything not within their ownership (outside of their building plot). From what I know. Even if you shoot, they can tell you to stop but you don't have to. Unless it's a designated Protected Place / Area. No privacy laws in sg. Unless the photo you're taking puts the subject into situations which they consider defamatory, they can file a civil suit.

About

Photography is under attack. Across the country it that seems anyone with a camera is being targeted as a potential terrorist, whether amateur or professional, whether landscape, architectural or street photographer.