Type of display u use for PS

Which display is good for PS or photo editing?


Results are only viewable after voting.

Status
Not open for further replies.

clive

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2002
2,537
0
0
Visit site
#4
but lcd is more expensive?? luckily i never went and bought lcd monitor :)
 

AReality

Senior Member
Jun 9, 2003
4,458
0
0
VisualJournalist.net
#5
get a higher quality CRT.
no point buying a slim LCD to show off... (doubt anyone will be impressed with LCDs these days...)
 

sumball

Senior Member
Jul 8, 2003
4,333
0
0
#8
CRT for sure. The LCD screen of my notebook show me something else which is not accurate. :cry:
 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#10
Azure said:
CRTs for me.
Good if can display 6500K color temp. Best if can display in 5000K.
How come 5000k? The whites will look very yellow leh...... So far i think most FDi labs set white point at 6400?

6400 is actually a bit yellow already...
 

Ah Pao

Senior Member
Nov 7, 2003
1,662
0
36
Singapore
www.facebook.com
#11
Buck for buck, CRT still offers greater value for money, not to mention better displays and contrast. CRT can also offer higher resolutions that can help maximise your editing workspace.

Of course, unless you can afford the Apple Cinema or Studio displays, CRT is IMHO better.
 

Minimalis

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2002
999
0
16
40
Bukit Batok
#12
I just bought 2 used Sony Trinitron E200 17" monitors and placed them side by side for dual display. Clean clear display, extermely sharp, at less than the cost of a single 15" LCD (~$250). These are really great CRT monitors for colour work, and at max resolution of 1600x1024 at 75Hz, it's a real bang for the buck.
 

Minimalis

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2002
999
0
16
40
Bukit Batok
#13
Oh and did I mention, Trinitron monitors last for heck of a long time. My old MAG XJ700T (which has a trinitron tube) turns 7 this year. It still functions well.
 

sumball

Senior Member
Jul 8, 2003
4,333
0
0
#15
2100 said:
How come 5000k? The whites will look very yellow leh...... So far i think most FDi labs set white point at 6400?

6400 is actually a bit yellow already...
FDi labs set white point at 6400? so it is better for me to set my monitor temp to 6500 if i want to PS the photo for development?

ya, at this temp it is pretty yellow liao.

thanks 2100 & Azure. :D
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom