The longest exposure for Digital


Status
Not open for further replies.

akane

New Member
Jun 4, 2003
174
0
0
Sydney
#1
Hi,

Tried searching for this but didn't find any one bringing up :dunno:

What's the longest exposure (bulb) anyone tried on a dSLR?

:)
 

2100

Senior Member
Mar 3, 2004
3,591
0
0
48
#3
Read that someone tried doing star trails for about 6 hours. Nikon D70.
 

nuts

Senior Member
Jan 21, 2002
2,051
0
36
47
www.roving-light.com
#4
Without talking abt image quality, I think the longest exposure will depend on what kind of power supply the DSLR is using :)
Even phrasing as "Whats the longest exposure a DSLR can do with a acceptable image", its still pretty subjective...
Speaking from what I've done on the 10D, I've done 1 hr with a BP511 (and it can go longer) but the noise is pretty high...
Check out
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=86414&page=2
The 'Celestial movement' is 2900s, which is abt 48min

akane said:
Hi,

Tried searching for this but didn't find any one bringing up :dunno:

What's the longest exposure (bulb) anyone tried on a dSLR?

:)
 

chenwei

New Member
Sep 6, 2002
1,315
0
0
Singapore
#5
nuts said:
Without talking abt image quality, I think the longest exposure will depend on what kind of power supply the DSLR is using :)
Even phrasing as "Whats the longest exposure a DSLR can do with a acceptable image", its still pretty subjective...
Speaking from what I've done on the 10D, I've done 1 hr with a BP511 (and it can go longer) but the noise is pretty high...
Check out
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=86414&page=2
The 'Celestial movement' is 2900s, which is abt 48min
just bit OT, where u shoot that? any tips on doing that?
 

nuts

Senior Member
Jan 21, 2002
2,051
0
36
47
www.roving-light.com
#6
Thats in Mongolia.
Erm, any specific things you're looking at? Its shot using a Canon 10D w/ 17-40 f4L, f4, 2900s. Cable release of course. Not sure what else you wanna know. You can pm me if you want...

chenwei said:
just bit OT, where u shoot that? any tips on doing that?
 

chenwei

New Member
Sep 6, 2002
1,315
0
0
Singapore
#7
nuts said:
Thats in Mongolia.
Erm, any specific things you're looking at? Its shot using a Canon 10D w/ 17-40 f4L, f4, 2900s. Cable release of course. Not sure what else you wanna know. You can pm me if you want...
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..
 

ratboy

New Member
Sep 10, 2002
661
0
0
www.singnet.com.sg
#8
chenwei said:
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..

yup... wait kenna kapow on the head
really see star trails : )))
 

nuts

Senior Member
Jan 21, 2002
2,051
0
36
47
www.roving-light.com
#9
yes, you need to goto a place with less light pollution...


chenwei said:
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..
 

pollock

New Member
Mar 2, 2004
66
0
0
#10
hey which camera's are u guys using to take star trails....?
 

seeyf

New Member
Oct 17, 2004
190
0
0
27
#11
Do bulb modes on DSLRs let you expose for as long as you like (as long as there's enough power)?

My 8800 has a 10 minute maximum time for bulb mode. Is that long enough for star trails?
 

obviousdude

Senior Member
Oct 14, 2003
1,439
0
0
West Coast of sunny Singapore
#13
seeyf said:
Do bulb modes on DSLRs let you expose for as long as you like (as long as there's enough power)?

My 8800 has a 10 minute maximum time for bulb mode. Is that long enough for star trails?
yup to the first point.
probably not to the second point.... then again, i've not tried, but i don't think stars move much in 10mins. also, your 8800 probably can't set as small an apperture as a dslr, which may result in overexposure unless you're very careful to ensure no bright light source is present....
 

Wai

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
5,270
0
36
39
South Pole with Penguin
singastro.org
#16
chenwei said:
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..
not only that....near equatorial region, the star will not move in circle

they will move in straight line (almost), so u wont get the curve effect even after hours of exposure

reason is that the stars will move around north star but in singapore, we can never see the north star :(

actually star trail is rather easy to shoot if u stay near north pole, just find a dark, cloudless night with no moon, no aeroplane/car, no lightning, no house nearby. Even better if there are some structures that dun give out light, like tower, trees, hill....
 

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2003
16,268
0
0
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
#17
Wai said:
not only that....near equatorial region, the star will not move in circle

they will move in straight line (almost), so u wont get the curve effect even after hours of exposure

reason is that the stars will move around north star but in singapore, we can never see the north star :(

actually star trail is rather easy to shoot if u stay near north pole, just find a dark, cloudless night with no moon, no aeroplane/car, no lightning, no house nearby. Even better if there are some structures that dun give out light, like tower, trees, hill....
if stay near north pole, i think there is no aeroplane/car... no house nearby... :sweatsm:

but den i think we would need to purchase those Canon 1D series camera already...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom