The longest exposure for Digital

akane

Jun 4, 2003
Sydney

Tried searching for this but didn't find any one bringing up :dunno:

What's the longest exposure (bulb) anyone tried on a dSLR?

Read that someone tried doing star trails for about 6 hours. Nikon D70.

Without talking abt image quality, I think the longest exposure will depend on what kind of power supply the DSLR is using :)
Even phrasing as "Whats the longest exposure a DSLR can do with a acceptable image", its still pretty subjective...
Speaking from what I've done on the 10D, I've done 1 hr with a BP511 (and it can go longer) but the noise is pretty high...
Check out
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=86414&page=2
The 'Celestial movement' is 2900s, which is abt 48min

akane said:

Tried searching for this but didn't find any one bringing up :dunno:

What's the longest exposure (bulb) anyone tried on a dSLR?

nuts said:
Without talking abt image quality, I think the longest exposure will depend on what kind of power supply the DSLR is using :)
Even phrasing as "Whats the longest exposure a DSLR can do with a acceptable image", its still pretty subjective...
Speaking from what I've done on the 10D, I've done 1 hr with a BP511 (and it can go longer) but the noise is pretty high...
Check out
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=86414&page=2
The 'Celestial movement' is 2900s, which is abt 48min
just bit OT, where u shoot that? any tips on doing that?

Thats in Mongolia.
Erm, any specific things you're looking at? Its shot using a Canon 10D w/ 17-40 f4L, f4, 2900s. Cable release of course. Not sure what else you wanna know. You can pm me if you want...

chenwei said:
just bit OT, where u shoot that? any tips on doing that?

nuts said:
Thats in Mongolia.
Erm, any specific things you're looking at? Its shot using a Canon 10D w/ 17-40 f4L, f4, 2900s. Cable release of course. Not sure what else you wanna know. You can pm me if you want...
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..

chenwei said:
cuz personally feel that it's almost impossible to do that in sg... :p my last try on shooting star trails was a failure, and in m'sia out at such a late time, really scare kena robbed..

yup... wait kenna kapow on the head
really see star trails : )))

yes, you need to goto a place with less light pollution...

chenwei said:

hey which camera's are u guys using to take star trails....?

Do bulb modes on DSLRs let you expose for as long as you like (as long as there's enough power)?

My 8800 has a 10 minute maximum time for bulb mode. Is that long enough for star trails?

seeyf said:
Do bulb modes on DSLRs let you expose for as long as you like (as long as there's enough power)?

My 8800 has a 10 minute maximum time for bulb mode. Is that long enough for star trails?
10 mins the stars move how much?

seeyf said:

yup to the first point.
probably not to the second point.... then again, i've not tried, but i don't think stars move much in 10mins. also, your 8800 probably can't set as small an apperture as a dslr, which may result in overexposure unless you're very careful to ensure no bright light source is present....

ah, i stand corrected.

however, as nuts demonstrated, it has to be really dark.

not many places in singapore dark enough though..

chenwei said:

not only that....near equatorial region, the star will not move in circle

they will move in straight line (almost), so u wont get the curve effect even after hours of exposure

reason is that the stars will move around north star but in singapore, we can never see the north star :(

actually star trail is rather easy to shoot if u stay near north pole, just find a dark, cloudless night with no moon, no aeroplane/car, no lightning, no house nearby. Even better if there are some structures that dun give out light, like tower, trees, hill....

Wai said:
not only that....near equatorial region, the star will not move in circle

they will move in straight line (almost), so u wont get the curve effect even after hours of exposure

reason is that the stars will move around north star but in singapore, we can never see the north star :(

actually star trail is rather easy to shoot if u stay near north pole, just find a dark, cloudless night with no moon, no aeroplane/car, no lightning, no house nearby. Even better if there are some structures that dun give out light, like tower, trees, hill....

if stay near north pole, i think there is no aeroplane/car... no house nearby... :sweatsm:

but den i think we would need to purchase those Canon 1D series camera already...

Can lah. Got money go north pole surely got money buy 1Ds MarkII