Taking photos of IMF security = ass kicking?

thedellis said:
Yeah, also my final shot was not of Ghurkas. I think that's well beyond both my abilites and their tolerances.
Glad you survived the ordeal! :bsmilie:
btw..i think your picture is in their databank now.:)

Lenscapes said:
Glad you survived the ordeal! :bsmilie:
btw..i think your picture is in their databank now.:)

he better dun sleep near the window tonight... and dun put a lens near the window, else he will really get a BTTL... :bsmilie:

thedellis said:
I'm thinking of heading down to the barricades, and taking some shots of the security there (the walls, razor wire, guards). Am I likely to be trundled off for questioning and a thorough beating, even though I'll be doing the tourist thing?

Are you a masochist :dunno:

The only shot of the day.

Singapore Sling (you in jail)

242203220_40e9541832.jpg

for your own safety, dont use RUSSIAN PHOTO SNIPER CAMERA!!!

unless you also want to be "shoot".:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

wildstallion said:
Where's the sub-machine guns?

I know, I know. But after approaching five sentry points and then three random sentries I figured I'd get nothing. This is the best I could get.

Anyway, didn't see any other photogs down there ;)

Belle&Sebastain said:
if you strongly believe your cause , then you should go for it, most people here are just so comfortable behind their computers.

There are some risking radiation from monitors and RSI not to mention marital breakdown to surf CS.

The real heros are behind computers. :)

wildstallion said:
Where's the sub-machine guns?

The only visible rifle are carried by the gurkhas, but please dont be fooled, its to project a low key friendly police image. There are lots of men on standby, i think its better for the rioters and the public order forces especially the reservist that nothing happens so everyone can all go home when this is over.

thedellis said:
I'm back, and I have a terrible tale to tell of...

POLICE BRUTALITY!

Because I was disoriented from circumnavigating Suntec, this uniformed barbarian, he...he...he politely gave me very helpful and succinct directions to the MRT. It was horrible! The brute!

Right now you may be saying to yourself, I told you so!, but you'd be wrong, dead wrong.

Did I get my photo? You bet your sweet ass I did! It's not the shot I wanted, but I think as a reward for walking up to so many heavily armed men it's good.

I'll pop it up once it's edited.

Chey :faint:

I tot it would be more dramatic

I took this shot last night:

242256688_f006e7ae68.jpg

You can see all the riot vans and other vehicles in the bottom left-hand corner. Is that an old SAFRA building?

Was worried the whole time I was up there about being taken out by a sniper and it wasn't long before I was escorted from the building's rooftop carpark by security guards. Oh well, got a few good shots but the haze was bad last night.

Was thinking: what if a photog approaches the barricades with a super-telephoto mounted on a chest-pod...?

Sure kena jialat jialat siah... ;)

btw: which trigger lag longer? Single Lens Relfex (SLR) or Self-Loading Rifle (SLR)..?

Phildate said:
I took this shot last night:

242256688_f006e7ae68.jpg

You can see all the riot vans and other vehicles in the bottom left-hand corner. Is that an old SAFRA building?

Was worried the whole time I was up there about being taken out by a sniper and it wasn't long before I was escorted from the building's rooftop carpark by security guards. Oh well, got a few good shots but the haze was bad last night.
you took this from shaw tower carpark?

thedellis said:
I'm back, and I have a terrible tale to tell of...

POLICE BRUTALITY!

First, I thought it would be wise to have the camera out, instead of rooting though a bag at a sentry point. So I've got my dSLR in hand, and very obviously so. I'm 6'2", hard to miss. So I very obviously make my way to a sentry point with three heavily armed men and ask if I can take a photo.

You could see the hunger in their eyes. They had all that weaponry -- the guns, the sprays, the tasers, the truncheons and you could tell they wanted to use them. And along I come, into their trap. What happened then was unforgettable.

"I'm sorry, Sir, but all photography is forbidden here."
"Are you sure?"
"Yes, Sir. I am afraid that those are the rules.
- pause -
"Oh."
- pause -
"Have a great day, Sir."

It was horrible this awful brutatlity, but I am made of hard stuff so I asked at a few more posts. Each time the retribution was swift and terrible. "I am sorry, Sir. No photos."

This happened as I made my way about Suntec...until the last post. What happened next will always chill my blood!

Because I was disoriented from circumnavigating Suntec, this uniformed barbarian, he...he...he politely gave me very helpful and succinct directions to the MRT. It was horrible! The brute!

Right now you may be saying to yourself, I told you so!, but you'd be wrong, dead wrong.

Did I get my photo? You bet your sweet ass I did! It's not the shot I wanted, but I think as a reward for walking up to so many heavily armed men it's good.

I'll pop it up once it's edited.
lol!

Anyway its amusing that you actually bothered to ask them for permission. No single officer is going to oblige for obvious reasons if given this option. And it may not even be due to security concerns. They just want to play safe, for goodness knows whats gonna happen if they find their faces appearing in clubsnap for the whole world to see?

You are probably much better off simply snapping photos of them, giving them a sweet smile, and walk off. If they protest, just smile, "I'm sorry", and leave (but dont walk too fast).

I am saying this because I am behind those barricades as well. :D Just that I arent wearing that ugly combat uniform worn by the uncles. Anyhow, please, of coz, exercise some responsibility and use common sense in avoiding posting photos which may present a security concern. Close-ups and the photo you just posted are usually alright...since you cant really tell where they are standing (ok the "raffles" is a big clue :D) or how big the overall security operation is.