Taking photos for deli Menu

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I've been asked to help out a friend to take some photos of food for his deli menu. Need some advice on what I need to have, need to do, etc. I own a Canon 350D with kit lens, a 28-105 lens and an external flash on loan from my bro-in-law. I'm kinda new in photography, so appreciate any help I can get. ;) Thanks in advance.

paul

Stratix

Oct 13, 2005
i guess macros are the way to go, try a few new angles for close ups... =)

in my opinion, the kit lens should be good enough...

elfvin

Oct 29, 2005
Bukit Panjang
www.alvinewe.com
i think food usually appears SOFT. i think i think. i saw pictures on food photography and mostly are soft. and i read a little on food photography, closed up attracts people to look at the pictures.

flash? bounced it!

Adiemus

May 21, 2004
Small island....
I prefer to use the 50mm f/1.8 for these kinda shots.
Given a choice, I would mount it on a tripod and shoot using ambient light.
If flash is required, use bounce or use a diffuser.

elfvin

Oct 29, 2005
Bukit Panjang
www.alvinewe.com
I prefer to use the 50mm f/1.8 for these kinda shots.
Given a choice, I would mount it on a tripod and shoot using ambient light.
If flash is required, use bounce or use a diffuser.
yeah, doing outside your window is the best when the sunlight is the strongest! :)

VR Man

Nov 21, 2005
Go to your local library or book store and get a book on food photography read up.

Your kit lens cannot make it. Better buy, borrow or loan a prime macro lens.

Get a reflector, 1-2 lights and tracing paper.

You should get someone who can style your food.

Have fun :)

Del_CtrlnoAlt

Feb 15, 2003
Outside the Dry Box.
Visit site
do a search... tis has been repeated over many times...