Sunrise at seletar resevoir

ngopkhoi

Dec 18, 2010

I am just a newbie seeking for critique and comment. This is the best shot of mine so far. This was shot using my kit lens

1. In what area is critique to be sought?
I'd like to have critique on the composition, colour, shading . I would like to know how to improve the shot as well.

2. What one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
I hope to achieve a good landscape photo.

3. Under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
This was taken in the morning around 7 30. I was a bit sleepy because I woke up quite early to prepare. I expected the sun to rise at 6. Haha.

4. What the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture?
I photoshoped this picture. After that I realize this look more like sunset to me. :sweatsm:

Last edited:
730am is no longer a good time to catch sunrise.

u can search for the threads in this forum, they usually shoot way earlier then that.

i never get to do sunrise shots cos i knew i cannot wake up that early lol

Not a bad try. Exposure is a little under. Maybe you want to try some blending or exposure balancing.

I think it would be helpful if you do some prior homework on what time does the sun rises on the day you plan to shoot, then plan what time to go down and gears and what you intend to do and which scene or angle (perhaps you would have an idea before you head down). I think (not entirely sure) that the sun rise in Singapore generally is around 6:30-7:00 am, I remember checking once and it was like 6:50am? I think these are somethings you can perhaps think about first before you head down to shoot and because sunrise and sunsets are so quick, and the lighting condition changes so quickly, I think a bit of preparation in that sense would help.

Is this a sunrise? Perhaps you wish to make the colour balance cooler?

It looks like a sunset to me...