Studio Photography


Status
Not open for further replies.

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#1
Hi all,

i will be doing a studio shoot one of these days soon and i was wondering if anyone could provide any advise in regards to doing so?

I will be using my Fuji S602 coupled with a Syn hotshoe so i was wondering what kind of lighting is needed and what would be appropriate?

Kindly advise.
 

Aug 8, 2002
312
0
16
42
Visit site
#2
Go and do a proper white balance. As to how u have to ask chenwei and malkw. Malkw got quite good color during our shoot.
 

ckiang

Senior Member
#3
Originally posted by Wolfgang
Hi all,

i will be doing a studio shoot one of these days soon and i was wondering if anyone could provide any advise in regards to doing so?

I will be using my Fuji S602 coupled with a Syn hotshoe so i was wondering what kind of lighting is needed and what would be appropriate?

Kindly advise.
In the studio, you probably will be using those studio strobes with softboxes or umbrellas. Typically uses anything from 1 to 4 or more lights depending on the kind of effect you want. Most studio strobes have built-in slaves, so if your camera doesn't preflash, you can probably use your popup flash with an IR filter to trigger them. Alternatively, just connect the sync to one of the strobes.

Regards
CK
 

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#4
Originally posted by ckiang


In the studio, you probably will be using those studio strobes with softboxes or umbrellas. Typically uses anything from 1 to 4 or more lights depending on the kind of effect you want. Most studio strobes have built-in slaves, so if your camera doesn't preflash, you can probably use your popup flash with an IR filter to trigger them. Alternatively, just connect the sync to one of the strobes.

Regards
CK
Hmm ok. Using a syn hotshoe, i should be able to connect to one of the strobes. Would 2 lights be sufficient?
 

Aug 8, 2002
312
0
16
42
Visit site
#6
one light was used. there are two setup, one for sitting and one for standing. Make sure u check yr light setting every time the model move.
 

ckiang

Senior Member
#8
Originally posted by Wolfgang


Hmm ok. Using a syn hotshoe, i should be able to connect to one of the strobes. Would 2 lights be sufficient?
Again, depends on what you're trying to achieve. I've seen people do with 1 light + reflector(s), or the more typical 4-light setup (Main/Key, Fill, Back and Hair) or other variations.

A handheld flash meter to measure the exposure would come in VERY handy.

Regards
CK
 

Bluestrike

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
4,784
0
0
41
There lor~
bluestrike.clubsnap.org
#9
Originally posted by ckiang


Again, depends on what you're trying to achieve. I've seen people do with 1 light + reflector(s), or the more typical 4-light setup (Main/Key, Fill, Back and Hair) or other variations.

A handheld flash meter to measure the exposure would come in VERY handy.

Regards
CK
Hmm.. shooting digital in this case is oso handy.....
:p

Anyway, Wolf, shoot shoot shoot
 

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#10
Originally posted by ckiang


Again, depends on what you're trying to achieve. I've seen people do with 1 light + reflector(s), or the more typical 4-light setup (Main/Key, Fill, Back and Hair) or other variations.

A handheld flash meter to measure the exposure would come in VERY handy.

Regards
CK
Then i guess it's a whole new learning experience for me. :)

I'll be probably using 1 main light, 1 back light and one fill...
Hmm...

Thanks again Ckiang.

Any other tips you have in mind or that would come handy would be very much appreciated. :)
 

Bluestrike

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
4,784
0
0
41
There lor~
bluestrike.clubsnap.org
#13
Originally posted by ckiang


Even more handy if you have a laptop on the spot. That small LCD on the camera isn't very good for critical analysis. ;p

Regards
CK
Yeah lor...
but I think a PC is better..

Then must calibrate one ok!
:p
 

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#14
Originally posted by ckiang


Even more handy if you have a laptop on the spot. That small LCD on the camera isn't very good for critical analysis. ;p

Regards
CK
Laptop? Hmmm... ok... Maybe i should ask for a Digital Imaging workstation to be set up at the studio....

Ok. Thanks. :)
 

Bluestrike

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
4,784
0
0
41
There lor~
bluestrike.clubsnap.org
#16
Originally posted by Wolfgang


Wah.. stressed... :cry:

My home one is calibrated... not sure abt the one they might provide... :dunno:
Aiyo.. just joking lah,,,..
anyway, just make sure you ask your model to take the undergarments off 1-2hr b4 the shoot then no visiable...
Oops...

I let the cat out of the bag liao
 

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#17
Originally posted by Bluestrike

Aiyo.. just joking lah,,,..
anyway, just make sure you ask your model to take the undergarments off 1-2hr b4 the shoot then no visiable...
Oops...

I let the cat out of the bag liao
Mai lah... siao... :embrass:
 

Aug 8, 2002
312
0
16
42
Visit site
#18
bear in mind that using more lights are more creative but it also limit the movement of the model . For hair light is nice . It can be from behind, on top or at an angle to the model.

But remember if yr model is not place properly, u get get lens flare from the stray hair light.

Is time an issue here? it is good for u to start simple with one light. Once u master using one light , using more lights will be easier. The lesser the lights , the lesser the mistakes. If u are doing for learning ,it is fine , but if u are doing for a client think twice.
 

Wolfgang

Senior Member
Apr 29, 2002
5,688
0
0
39
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
#19
Originally posted by xfathom69
bear in mind that using more lights are more creative but it also limit the movement of the model . For hair light is nice . It can be from behind, on top or at an angle to the model.

But remember if yr model is not place properly, u get get lens flare from the stray hair light.

Is time an issue here? it is good for u to start simple with one light. Once u master using one light , using more lights will be easier. The lesser the lights , the lesser the mistakes. If u are doing for learning ,it is fine , but if u are doing for a client think twice.
Hmmm... thanks for the advise. :)
 

Aug 8, 2002
312
0
16
42
Visit site
#20
for hair light ,

from behind or at an angle behind u will show a rim, a glowing edge at the hair, sometime u may get a wrapround effect. The edges of yr neck and shoudler are glowing. some think of it as creative, while others think of it as lightn mistakes.

If u have a boom, u can do top lightn to the head. Can be a light or a reflector. See webphoto school (photoflex) on how to light the hair with a reflector
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom