Starhub Maxonline surfing


Status
Not open for further replies.

eadwine

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2002
1,937
0
0
38
east side
#1
Is it just me or has surfing overseas sites been very sllllloooooow lately???
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#3
me too... overseas site is getting slower, and my dl speeds is dropping like crazy...

its getting slower la.... tats for sure..
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#4
btw, can someone teach me how to restrict the amt of bandwith in the computer or router ? coz i have 2 comps running at the same time, so i wan to restrict one with higher bandwith for uploading works, and dling and lower bandwith for normal useage ??

and also hw to restrict the wi-fi to one person ??

i am using the Linksys B wireless.. hehe..
 

xray

New Member
Jul 28, 2004
662
0
0
Singapore
www.hachisu.com.sg
#5
Change channels? Someone in your area might be using the same channel as you, leading to noise, so your computer has to check signals first before using. This leads to slowness.
 

leeter

New Member
May 1, 2004
1,936
0
0
#6
OMG, sooo many people using wireless nowadays arr ? it's fairly easy to tap and break into one wireless network.

Answering to GO, you can use ur router's built-in program that allows only certain MAC IP to access to ur network. And for restriction, you can try using softwares like NetLimiter ? haha

If that doesn't answer, guess u can bring ur questions to ur local computer expert.
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#7
glennyong said:
btw, can someone teach me how to restrict the amt of bandwith in the computer or router ? coz i have 2 comps running at the same time, so i wan to restrict one with higher bandwith for uploading works, and dling and lower bandwith for normal useage ??

and also hw to restrict the wi-fi to one person ??

i am using the Linksys B wireless.. hehe..
Bandwidth restriction, you need to have QoS to prioritize your traffic. If you're using a WRT54G... then just install the 3rd party firmware.

Wifi to 1 person? MAC filtering.
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#8
dEthANGeL said:
Bandwidth restriction, you need to have QoS to prioritize your traffic. If you're using a WRT54G... then just install the 3rd party firmware.

Wifi to 1 person? MAC filtering.
Qos Packing ? this one can set on the router one ?
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#9
glennyong said:
Qos Packing ? this one can set on the router one ?
I'm not sure what model your router is .. if its the WRT54G ... 3rd party firmware from Alchemy.. does support QoS .. using it at home. The latest firmware from linksys might be able to support QoS. I'm not very sure.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom