Starhub Massive Disconnection Problems


Status
Not open for further replies.
#1
Hey

Is anyone else having massive connection problems with Starhub? Mine seems to be disconnecting every 30 seconds without fail. Wired connection.

This has happened for the past two nights with no email or notification from Starhub. Im getting very pissed off at having to pay such a premium when I cant use the internet when I want too!
 

Lenscapes

New Member
Apr 28, 2004
942
0
0
#2
too many people signup starhub broadband at IT show?:)
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#4
I've never trusted Starhub. Had nothing but problems, and seen so many friends suffer because of their unreliability.
 

#5
too many people signup starhub broadband at IT show?:)
I hope thats not the case! Doubt its that though.

My connection is A ok ~ from Starhub ;)
Mine seems better now after 2 hours of messing me around!

I've never trusted Starhub. Had nothing but problems, and seen so many friends suffer because of their unreliability.
They have been ok, but I definitely dont get the speeds ive subscribed for and they have been quite unreliable in terms of connectivity, not to mention the customer service is pretty useless!
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#6
I'm not saying that biaisedly. I started out with the Broadband service - sucked big time. Connectivity problems, speed and reliability. Customer service was bad.

I used to tell my friends who explained or complained - if you want to have constant arguments with SO, loose friends and customers, piss off boss and loose your job, get a Starhub mobile line.
 

#7
I'm not saying that biaisedly. I started out with the Broadband service - sucked big time. Connectivity problems, speed and reliability. Customer service was bad.

I used to tell my friends who explained or complained - if you want to have constant arguments with SO, loose friends and customers, piss off boss and loose your job, get a Starhub mobile line.
Haha, luckily im with M1 for the mobile, so no problems there! Might switch the internet over soon, will be calling them tomorrow to see whats going on and whether they plan on fixing it or informing customers of disruptions in the future. We have spent alot of money with Starhub and this kind of situation is unacceptable, especially without communication from them. I doubt id be complaining now if I was told they would be working on the line, so expect disruption. :dunno: Maybe im still pissed off that ive been disconnected most of the last two nights!
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#8
dunno why starhub has been like that these few months.. on and off intermittenly.. :thumbsd:
 

#9
dunno why starhub has been like that these few months.. on and off intermittenly.. :thumbsd:
Ever since that major cable went down under some sea its been disconnecting on and off randomly, wonder if thats just a coincidence or the cause :think:
 

hazmee

Senior Member
May 9, 2004
2,942
1
38
37
Sengkang
noorhazmee.com
#10
Maybe Godzilla accidentally stepped on their underground cables because that's what the customer service officer seems to be saying these days.
 

Lumiere

Senior Member
Sep 15, 2006
1,765
0
36
35
bryanjeanphotography.com
#11
for past few months i've called a few times...complained many times and...things got a lil wee bit better but recently things are not as good anymore and it pretty slow...and there is nothing i can do
 

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#12
Change service providers.

Hey, anyone hear about a majorrr country/player thinking of buying into Singapore's infocom, or at least telecom structure? Any updates?
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#13
i am now using m1 broadband 1.8MB to surf this clubsnap.. it is not as fast as maxonline but there is hardly any sudden disconnection..

;)
 

#14
And once again im being disconnected every 30 seconds, I called starhub earlier and they said nothings wrong, well, to me, when im being disconnected every 30 seconds, something is quite clearly not right. I'm going to call back tomorrow and have a right go at them, because this is just getting pathetic. Starhub - What a waste of time and money :thumbsd:
 

jc1

Senior Member
Jan 28, 2005
1,136
0
36
Bt Panjang
#15
And once again im being disconnected every 30 seconds, I called starhub earlier and they said nothings wrong, well, to me, when im being disconnected every 30 seconds, something is quite clearly not right. I'm going to call back tomorrow and have a right go at them, because this is just getting pathetic. Starhub - What a waste of time and money :thumbsd:
Hi wildstallion,

Are you using Linksys wireless router WRT54G installed by Starhub? Firmware version 4.00.7?
 

madmacs

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2002
5,456
0
36
madmacs.multiply.com
#17
And once again im being disconnected every 30 seconds, I called starhub earlier and they said nothings wrong, well, to me, when im being disconnected every 30 seconds, something is quite clearly not right. I'm going to call back tomorrow and have a right go at them, because this is just getting pathetic. Starhub - What a waste of time and money :thumbsd:
do you still get disconnected if you connect direct to the cable modem? also ask them if your cable modem reporting errors on their end.
 

#18
do you still get disconnected if you connect direct to the cable modem? also ask them if your cable modem reporting errors on their end.
They said my connection seemed fine at their end.

Havnt tried direct connection, but doubt its a router issue as it works 100% fine during the day and when im not being disconnected (such as now).
 

jc1

Senior Member
Jan 28, 2005
1,136
0
36
Bt Panjang
#19
I solved the disconnection problem by upgrading to firmware 4.21.1 on the Linksys router.

My problem could be different from yours. My PC (xp/sp2, fully updated) once disconnected by itself from the internet, must reboot in order to re-connect. Btw, I'm using cable connection.

I 'm enjoying good connection for the past 2 months without any problem at all.
 

madmacs

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2002
5,456
0
36
madmacs.multiply.com
#20
They said my connection seemed fine at their end.

Havnt tried direct connection, but doubt its a router issue as it works 100% fine during the day and when im not being disconnected (such as now).
give direct connection a try. if its still disconnecting then its likely the cable modem is faulty. if not cable modem then its starhub. either way they should be able to detect some errors on their end.

also possible its your router. i used to encounter frequent disconnects with my old dlink router. now using netgear...once is a long long while then need to reset.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom