Something for firefox users


Status
Not open for further replies.

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#3
Not sure about installing the patch - he says that the increase in speed is from making firefox make multiple requests to the same server concurrently.

If this is the case, you don't need to install this foreign exe (I know I'm a little paranoid). You can do this instead

0. Open a new firefox tab/window
1. Type "about:config" in the address field.
2. Set the value of network.http.pipelining to "true".
3. Set the value of network.http.pipelining.maxrequests to "50".
4. Set the value of network.http.proxy.pipelining to "true"
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#4
Another trick is to make firefox start rendering the page immediately (normally there is a 250ms delay)

to do this, set
nglayout.initialpaint.delay = 0
 

RossChang

New Member
May 2, 2004
1,549
0
0
rossblogspace.blogspot.com
#7
I totally agree with gooseberry... never try EXE from a Unsolicited source...

and yea, tat about:config thingi was cool... didn't knew that... tat's really a helluva lot of things to tweek... good stuff...
 

Drudkh

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
6,129
0
0
lulu island
#11
mpenza said:
thanks gooseberry for the tips. couldn't find the "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" though.
it should be there, try the filter bar to find.
 

Robert

New Member
Jun 25, 2004
154
0
0
#12
Drudkh said:
it should be there, try the filter bar to find.
Thanks to the gurus - it works

But can't find the nglayout one however
 

Drudkh

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
6,129
0
0
lulu island
#14
hmm weird, the one i use in office has this entry but not the one i use at home. :think: funny!
 

RossChang

New Member
May 2, 2004
1,549
0
0
rossblogspace.blogspot.com
#15
Well, I"ve downloaded mine from http://www.moox.ws/tech/mozilla/, not the official built, but the optimized version for P4 and P(m)...hehehehe... probably there are some differences?... I took the Branch Built instead of the Trunk built... dunno whatsoever reason, the Trunk Built doesn't work and is giving me weird errors... anyone wanna enlighten me?
 

SNAG

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2002
1,644
0
36
33
Visit site
#16
Thanks.. I've just converted to Firefox, and wow.
It's a whole lot customizable compared to IE.

I love plugin based software... :)
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#18
Drudkh said:
hmm weird, the one i use in office has this entry but not the one i use at home. :think: funny!
Yeah, it looks like the preference setting for nglayout.initialpaint.delay is not displayed in the newer versions (if you've installed an older version and done an upgrade, it will still be there), just right click on the preferences list and select New->Integer and create a setting for it.
 

SNAG

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2002
1,644
0
36
33
Visit site
#19
Tried gooseberry's tricks before loading the patcher, and the patcher still loads pages considerably faster.

So the patcher has more than just those pipelining requests... :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom