Soft Images


Status
Not open for further replies.

strauss

New Member
Feb 16, 2008
105
0
0
Singapore
#1
Seems to be getting soft images. I initially thought it was my shaky hands, but it seems to persist despite using VR lens. I am using D80 and 18-200 VR lenses... do you face similar problems?
 

strauss

New Member
Feb 16, 2008
105
0
0
Singapore
#3
this is an example ...



Focus was on the conductor making the speech. Could it be that the focusing was not done correctly?
 

Squid

New Member
Jun 10, 2004
1,467
0
0
#4
this is an example ...



Focus was on the conductor making the speech. Could it be that the focusing was not done correctly?
EXIF information indicates you are photographing at ISO 200 200mm F5.6 1/25s on 18-200mm F3.5-5.6 lens, which IMHO is not a good setting in this case. Shutter speed too slow and apeture is at wide open setting. IMHO, perhaps bumping up to ISO 400 or more may improve the situation. :)
 

strauss

New Member
Feb 16, 2008
105
0
0
Singapore
#5
thanks...what abt the focus method. Would a single pt be better than multi-pt focus in any case?
 

theRBK

Senior Member
May 16, 2005
2,048
1
0
#6
thanks...what abt the focus method. Would a single pt be better than multi-pt focus in any case?
in this case, I don't think it would matter... the

shutter speed ≤ 1/focal length

guideline is good to keep in mind if you want to be safe... with VR, you could try one or two stops below but don't push it too much :)
 

strauss

New Member
Feb 16, 2008
105
0
0
Singapore
#7
yea...thanks for the input. Have been trying to keep the rule, but sometimes not enuff light. Guess have to play with ISO as suggested by squid and EV. I'm trying to get a flash and play with it a bit, any recommendations on what to get?
 

geraldkhoo

Senior Member
Jun 15, 2007
2,571
0
36
The Tiny Red Dot
sgstrobist.blogspot.com
#9
From the pic... it does look like there is enough light in that environment... so the main thing would be to push up the ISO to 400 or 640 to maybe a max of 800. When focusing, I normally use a single point (I'm one of those who only need 1 focusing point) and I focus on the person's eye.
 

m3lv1nh0

Senior Member
Sep 24, 2007
2,225
0
0
40
Serangoon North
#10
Personally I feel that 1 focus point seems to be easier for newbies like me. Just focus the point to where you want to be in focus, hold half shutter and re-compose the shot. IMHO, a flash wouldn't help in this scenerio as the subject is too far away. Increasing the ISO seems to be the only solution now unless you change the lens to a bigger aperture ones.
 

Jan 12, 2007
378
0
0
#11
dude what im guessing is that if your pictures appear "soft" it could be, there is something wrong with the afs. it could possibly be front or back focusing. that means it focuses on a plane either furthur infront of or behind your intended target. however since your arent using something like 3.5 to 5.6 then it shouldnt be so obvious cause the dof should make up for it. however best to go get it checked and calibrated. why dont you try using another lense and see if problem persists if so then shld be the lense.

as far as i can see dont think its handshake. it looks more out of focus. but then again sharpness of the 18-200 isnt exactly something to shout about as well. you could get a cheap prime like a 50 1.8 and check out the diff. lol.
 

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#12
..but then again sharpness of the 18-200 isnt exactly something to shout about as well. you could get a cheap prime like a 50 1.8 and check out the diff. lol.
The 18-200 issin't inferior to a point that it gives you such soft images. Many of us use it for travelling and shooting with great results.

Hi strauss try to shoot with a higher shutter speed and see if you can have sharper images. Likely too slow a shutter speed. ( Unless all your shots even at higher shutter speeds are soft as well )

Ryan
 

undergrd

Senior Member
Jun 16, 2007
1,990
7
38
North-East
#13
From the pic... it does look like there is enough light in that environment... so the main thing would be to push up the ISO to 400 or 640 to maybe a max of 800. When focusing, I normally use a single point (I'm one of those who only need 1 focusing point) and I focus on the person's eye.
sorry,noob here. You mean by increasing ISO will make ur pic sharp?cos I feel that the environment of the pic seems to be enuff light....
 

chalib

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2007
2,072
0
36
#14
sorry,noob here. You mean by increasing ISO will make ur pic sharp?cos I feel that the environment of the pic seems to be enuff light....
You feel doesn't mean camera will see in that way..... each camera model has its light metering system, the more pro is the camera, the better is the light metering system...

You can check the level of light metered by the camera in the view finder or LCD.

Many parameters determine the sharpness of pics....
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#16
sorry,noob here. You mean by increasing ISO will make ur pic sharp?cos I feel that the environment of the pic seems to be enuff light....
Yeah.. but the shutter speed is 1/25". Even if you can keep your hands steady, you have totally no control over subject who doesn't look like still life to me.
 

dark72

New Member
Nov 22, 2007
439
0
0
#17
I think with a external flash it'll be much better. Apparently the stage is already lit, but maybe because the subject is still quite far.
 

giantcanopy

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2007
6,232
2
0
SG
#18
To freeze usual human motion u need ard at least 1/60
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#19
To freeze usual human motion u need ard at least 1/60
Yup.. That's why VR/tripod can help to reduce/eliminate camera shake but it can do nothing to prevent your live subject from moving and getting himself/herself/itself blurred in the image. ;p
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom