Snaps of my Cats

rey1989

Dec 30, 2009
I'm new to photography. Abusing my Canon 500D with 18-55mm for the first day. ADVICE PLEASE!
#1 - 1/13, f/5.6
IMG_9526.jpg

#2 - 1/8, f/5.6
IMG_9527.jpg

#3 - 1/13, f/5.6
IMG_9528.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome to CS :)
You have a nice cat there. This is a good start.
1 important thing is, try not to use direct flash on them. Also try not to take random shots, plan your shots.
The 2nd photo is slightly under.
Well, remember to read your camera's manual, keep shooting & continue to post your cat shots here. If you have questions on how to take better cat pictures, just ask. I'm sure many CS'sers here are willing to share.
Oh, one more thing, leave space between your photos please number your photos ;)

Welcome to CS :)
You have a nice cat there. This is a good start.
1 important thing is, try not to use direct flash on them. Also try not to take random shots, plan your shots.
The 2nd photo is slightly under.
Well, remember to read your camera's manual, keep shooting & continue to post your cat shots here. If you have questions on how to take better cat pictures, just ask. I'm sure many CS'sers here are willing to share.
Oh, one more thing, leave space between your photos please number your photos ;)

what do you mean by under? under expose is it?

got 3 actually, 2 male, 1 female, but 1 male have to be moved to my sister's place. you should know why. don't need to explain. MY CATS JUST CAN'T STAND STILL FOR ME TO TAKE THEIR PICTURE! any tips?

You can try catching them during their naps or about to nap or getting up from the nap. Just need a little patience & always try to be ready for the next shot. Play a while with them & they'll just do their own things. Since you shoot with the 18-55mm lens, its easy to shoot with one hand while with the other hand, you can distract them ;)

thank you very much. =). will be uploading more soon!

#5 - 1/8, f/5.6
IMG_0001.jpg

#6 - 1/40, f/3.5
IMG_0023.jpg

#7 - 1/8, f/5.0
IMG_0028.jpg