Snapping photos on airplane

Gerald Lam CK

Jul 2, 2009
Admiralty
glamphotography-ck.blogspot.com
I believe many of u took photos with a dslr while on the plane. Before i started dslr, i used a compact cam which doesnt give out any sound when taking photos.

Now that i just started dslr, I hope to take nice skyline while flying on the plane, however, wouldnt it be very noisy and attention-seeking if those shutter sounds filled the plane? And by right phototaking is not allowed on flight right?

I believe many of u took photos with a dslr while on the plane. Before i started dslr, i used a compact cam which doesnt give out any sound when taking photos.

Now that i just started dslr, I hope to take nice skyline while flying on the plane, however, wouldnt it be very noisy and attention-seeking if those shutter sounds filled the plane? And by right phototaking is not allowed on flight right?

No problem.
I have done so. taking photo of other passenger's cute baby, or the cute air stewardess, or when the plane manouver for landing to take aerial photo of the land, taking photo of airport workers, etc, but the damn window is sometimes full of scratches the picture comes out soft.

No problem.
I have done so. taking photo of other passenger's cute baby, or the cute air stewardess, or when the plane manouver for landing to take aerial photo of the land, taking photo of airport workers, etc, but the damn window is sometimes full of scratches the picture comes out soft.

Haha..seems like u were busy even on the plane. but i tot no electronic equip were supposed to be turned on when on flight?

Oi, your camera got radio? What cannot be turned on is the radio one that can cause interference, laptop included cos they have wifi etc. My cam not that advanced liao. :angel:

yes, and if you want to take photos of the stewardesses, please do not be sneaky about it. just smile, and ask if you can take a photo of them.

it makes them feel uncomfortable if you are sneaky.

Oi, your camera got radio? What cannot be turned on is the radio one that can cause interference, laptop included cos they have wifi etc. My cam not that advanced liao. :angel:

oh darn it...icic. nope my 450D no radio. Haha!

yes, and if you want to take photos of the stewardesses, please do not be sneaky about it. just smile, and ask if you can take a photo of them.

it makes them feel uncomfortable if you are sneaky.

Ermm..im taking tigerair, so not sure if the stewardesses there are worth taking. :p Haha.

hey gerald, no worries :) its only taking off and landing then no electronic equipment is allowed. this is due to the electromagnetic waves that the objects produces when current is flowing through it. once ur high abv 10km, its ok.

hwoever, do note tat the glass is erm. curved in a sense. its hard to catch a nice photo without reflection/ seeing the glass

hey gerald, no worries :) its only taking off and landing then no electronic equipment is allowed. this is due to the electromagnetic waves that the objects produces when current is flowing through it. once ur high abv 10km, its ok.

hwoever, do note tat the glass is erm. curved in a sense. its hard to catch a nice photo without reflection/ seeing the glass

Yeah im aware...depends on my luck i guess.

Shutter noise? Do remember that the ambient noise level inside the cabin is pretty high due to engine noise and wind noise. So, shutter noise not much of a problem.

I have shot quite a bit thru' the window of a plane. Clouds, mountains etc - but just cannot understand why I dun get it as sharp as I would expect. Vibration ruled out as I was using high shutter speed. Due to the bright condition, I typically shoot at F8 to F11 etc, so, not an issue here. Due to UV? Got UV filter.

With my eyes, I could see much more details, but somehow, I do not get good results.

see where you seat....if near the engines, even you piak piak piak also the person next to you most likely wont hear anything. I miss the days when can request to see the cockpit.

Please note that while airborne above Singapore, do not go around snapping happily on machine gun mode of Changi Airport and the area around it during take-off and landing especially on board Singapore Airlines.

While most flight attendant couldn't be bothered about it with probably hundreds to thousands of tourists and visitors doing the same act everyday without knowing the complications, there are passengers utilising DSLR with telezoom lens who had warned by the flight crew for doing so as there a quite a number of protected and sensitive key installations in the area.

Please refer to the Air Navigation Act (Chapter 6) prohibiting aerial photography of protected places. Example of such a photo with Changi Naval Base (CNB) along with Changi Air Base (East) visible.

o.o i never realised tat LOL

either way. the last time i was at taiwan flying back to singapore, i assure u the photo was horrible. cause i suay suay sit right at the wings, night time see tat stupid light bulb at the wing edge ahahaha

Please note that while airborne above Singapore, do not go around snapping happily on machine gun mode of Changi Airport and the area around it during take-off and landing especially on board Singapore Airlines.

While most flight attendant couldn't be bothered about it with probably hundreds to thousands of tourists and visitors doing the same act everyday without knowing the complications, there are passengers utilising DSLR with telezoom lens who had warned by the flight crew for doing so as there a quite a number of protected and sensitive key installations in the area.

does that include the golf course? :sweat:
man singapore is REALLY so small

That will depends if the golf course is actually a disguise for a top-secret subterranean ICBM facility or a base for our uber mecha squadrons or not. ;p

yeah the national library is the command center (that is why the deploy such a tight security guard to prohibit locals to take pictures, in case some locals want to betray the country and give the photo to some kuku with too much explosives), the weird circle shapes at HDB hub is the antenna to guide the missile and UFO at supreme court is a protoss mothership in disquise.
the casino um.. IR at marina bay will have that weird flower thingy it is actually beam particle cannon to shoot the laser beam to a stealth satellite with reflectors and convergers to deliver a precision strike that can knock down any target (including moving target) with 5 cm accuracy.

:lovegrin:

yeah the national library is the command center (that is why the deploy such a tight security guard to prohibit locals to take pictures, in case some locals want to betray the country and give the photo to some kuku with too much explosives), the weird circle shapes at HDB hub is the antenna to guide the missile and UFO at supreme court is a protoss mothership in disquise.
the casino um.. IR at marina bay will have that weird flower thingy it is actually beam particle cannon to shoot the laser beam to a stealth satellite with reflectors and convergers to deliver a precision strike that can knock down any target (including moving target) with 5 cm accuracy.

:lovegrin:
my friend, i think you need to go out and meet more people...hahahaha

10 points for imagination!
((=

I've taken many photos while on the plane. No problems at all. Even for photos of the skyline through the windows, you should be able to get very good photos, provided you stick your lens as close to the window as possible. Any scratches will not affect your output as long as you do that. It's the same concept as dust on your viewfinder should not affect your output as well.

As to taking photos with air stewardess, a PnS is also less intimidating for all.

I find that having a point and shoot camera is more versatile on the plane than an SLR. So for tours, I'll always lug a PnS along.

Some skyline photos for your reference (shot with Canon IXUS 800 IS. No soft photos! :)

#1 - This was taken on my way back from Sydney to Singapore
53398056.jpg

#2 - This was taken on my way to Shanghai
67392482.jpg

#3 - Another one from SG to Shanghai
67392483.jpg

Ermm..im taking tigerair, so not sure if the stewardesses there are worth taking. :p Haha.

u'll get tigeress to take :D

cathay pacific stewardess worth taking, saw a few nice ones for the few times i took their flight

will post some of my "in-flight" pics on my way back from bangkok last yr.

and no it won't bother the rest of the pple, the guy beside me even started asking me abt cameras :)