Singapore's First Cyber Begger

RuthBaby

Would you people donate to HIM, THIS GUY so that he can get his $6K Mac birthday Pressie???

What do you think....in view of the current ecnonmic situation, SARs, unemployment, Courage Fund....

He believes that this is just an innovative, fun way (to get what he wants?)

Read his Guestbook too....many different reactions...give you a glimpse as to the general mindset of Singaporeans today.

Hope no one see thsi post as a promotion for his site (that is NOT my intention) but I am curious as to what do you people think of his "innovative" CYBER BEGGING.

Just a cheap attempt at a publicity stunt that will just earn him more hits on his webpage.

nope I won't donate. He can b****y save for it himself.

asking for the most expensive 17-inch powerbook g4 some more... why don't he just take the money he has and get a second hand powerbook or ibook since he already raised $2574.05.

or just get a windows based notebook :dunno:

Its selfish and kniving because begging is resorting to preying on peoples good heartedness and generosity. I consider it as a means of last resort when there is no other way out that you lower your dignity and beg. To be well off and beg simply for more luxury and not for bread and water to live is mind boggling. It reflects sadly on the mindset of this person because he feels that he should have more even though he doesn't deserve it. And he also thinks that you should share your wealth with him simply because he wants it and is too lazy to earn his keep.

Originally posted by neptune
Its selfish and kniving because begging is resorting to preying on peoples good heartedness and generosity. I consider it as a means of last resort when there is no other way out that you lower your dignity and beg. To be well off and beg simply for more luxury and not for bread and water to live is mind boggling. It reflects sadly on the mindset of this person because he feels that he should have more even though he doesn't deserve it. And he also thinks that you should share your wealth with him simply because he wants it and is too lazy to earn his keep.

yup when people beg its cos they've no other way & need to beg in order to survive ie they need the money for very basic necessities. At hawker centres or outside shopping centres you get poor or handicapped people selling tissue packets at say 4 for $1 which is actually exhorbitant when you can get a pack of 20 for $1/-plus. I am no Mother Thereas but I don't mind getting the tissue packets from them as they're doing this to survive & are trying to maintain some dignity by "selling" something.

But to pay for his powerbook? No way.

he's not really begging, he's asking for money
he didn't hide that he is rich, lives in condo, has a job
it's up to whoever to give him the money and participate in the project
it may be silly but he aint cheating
those beggers on the streets, they may be cheating coz they might very well be able-bodied enough to work and can buy booze and cigarettes with your money

*shrug* read what he said

he's a 'personality' on the web, given his communications background.
main contributors are the pple closest to him i think..
anyway, it's for his bday tomorrow.

To me, whatever you call it, it is still begging, in the new age way.

BTW, if you read this page, he mentioned "escort services".

Draw your own conclusions.

Originally posted by HOCL
To me, whatever you call it, it is still begging, in the new age way.

BTW, if you read this page, he mentioned "escort services".

Draw your own conclusions.

Pay for "escort services" from someone like him? Duh. What a waste of money.

Originally posted by lavenderlilz
Pay for "escort services" from someone like him? Duh. What a waste of money.

well .... u nv know ... some rich tai tais may hav xtraordinary taste ...

;) :D :D

I would rather give my money to those who are more in need. For crying out loud, you have a roof over your head and at least 3 even meals ... there are people out there who don't even have a shelter to call home, or proper meals. This is OUTRAGEOUS! No way am I giving him a cent, and to those who do, I really wonder if they are aware of people in poverty.

Do you know what S$6000 can do? It can probably feed an entire village for quite a while ..... those who do missionary work can atest to this ..... :dunno: what is happening to this world? :dunno:

Originally posted by HOCL
well .... u nv know ... some rich tai tais may hav xtraordinary taste ...

;) :D :D

u mean EXTRAORDINARILY bad taste :p

i actually donate to the project
i dun see any harm

and it is fun.. so what..
if u call him begging...

and ..somemore it is his birthday for Christ sake..

So what if its his birthday?

Then what about all those poor children who never get to celebrate their birthdays?

Originally posted by nicekit
i actually donate to the project
i dun see any harm

and it is fun.. so what..
if u call him begging...

and ..somemore it is his birthday for Christ sake..

so??? it's my birthday in August..... why not you donate money for my D100. Or for that matter why dont every member in Clubsnap donate $1 each (we have 3000+ members) and i can get the D100. And maybe Xmas you can donate some funds for my 28-70mm f/2.8 and 14mm f/2.8.... :devil:

Originally posted by NitroTech
so??? it's my birthday in August..... why not you donate money for my D100. Or for that matter why dont every member in Clubsnap donate $1 each (we have 3000+ members) and i can get the D100. And maybe Xmas you can donate some funds for my 28-70mm f/2.8 and 14mm f/2.8.... :devil:

I also wan leh?! I wan a new camera, and a new sports car too! Since we are there, can throw in 10 CD stacker, sports rims .....

But seriously, I believe there are more worthy causes that deserve this money rather than some lame excuse of wanting to own a laptop. There are those who will die from starvation or illness without financial aid, and what do we do about them?

It is just sad to see that good money going to waste on unworthy people. Hey, I would like to see him donate this money away .... if he really deserves a laptop, let APPLE give one to him FOC!

No offence to those who have decided to donate. It is afterall, a personal choice.

it's not easy to 'bare' one's thoughts on the web.
no matter what u say,
there will be pple who agrees, and pple who disagrees with u.
everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
but we shouldn't seek conformance of thoughts.
i think.

one view could be that he's just charting how he is getting money through various means (skimps, flea market, donations) to fund his purchase.
this is what some of us do when buying something...just that maybe not in public view.
if u think he can jolly well get it himself, then dun donate lor. :)

Originally posted by Retro
if he really deserves a laptop, let APPLE give one to him FOC!
You never know ... maybe Apple is really paying him to attract all these publicity!