Sigma vs Ricoh

Hahha... I was thinking the same thing when I heard about the GX-100 - which one would I go for. Nice specs on the Ricoh (24-75mm equiv lens). Think I'd need to have a look at them both before making a decision and see the output images before making a choice. What attracts me about the Sigma DP-1 is the DX sized sensor. (For example, while I love the Fuji F11, there is a noticeable quality difference in the images between the small F11 sensor and say a DSLR like the D70). It'll be interesting to see the performance of the lens on the Sigma.

Hoping more manufacturers will make DX sensor sized quality compacts soon like a digital version of the Olympus XA or Nikon 28Ti

Haha Exactly the same thinking.

Hahha... I was thinking the same thing when I heard about the GX-100 - which one would I go for. Nice specs on the Ricoh (24-75mm equiv lens). Think I'd need to have a look at them both before making a decision and see the output images before making a choice. What attracts me about the Sigma DP-1 is the DX sized sensor. (For example, while I love the Fuji F11, there is a noticeable quality difference in the images between the small F11 sensor and say a DSLR like the D70). It'll be interesting to see the performance of the lens on the Sigma.

Hoping more manufacturers will make DX sensor sized quality compacts soon like a digital version of the Olympus XA or Nikon 28Ti

why not GR-Digital? or some following up of GRD.

I don't think GX-100 can match DP-1 considering the lens, CCD, and ...

Between the 2 which will you choose if you are using it for general shots and a carry around everyday camera and why ?.

The Sigma DP1 or the Ricoh GX-100.

Sigma DP-1
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0609/06092604sigmadp1.asp

Ricoh GX-100
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0703/07032801ricohgx100.asp

DP1, latest

there's quite alot of design differences in the earlier version of DP1 to the lastest version.

Dennis.....GX100 :bsmilie: :thumbsup:

quick hor..i waiting to test it's IR capabilities..if ok..u will see a WTS soon :bsmilie:

Not on the shelf yet leh.
Will do some mental consideration first so the purchase part can be faster mah. :sweat:

Dennis.....GX100 :bsmilie: :thumbsup:

quick hor..i waiting to test it's IR capabilities..if ok..u will see a WTS soon :bsmilie:

so far...the first con i see about this new ricoh GX100

1. Lens Cap (compared to the inbuilt one for the GRD)

Very interesting what sigma dp-1 has to offer... i will be looking forward to this but it is better to test both first..

so far...the first con i see about this new ricoh GX100

1. Lens Cap (compared to the inbuilt one for the GRD)

This is Ok with me, will not have problems with this.

i know why its on ur list bro...

24mm :bsmilie:

Not only this but it has a 19mm lens as well.
This effectively makes it the same as my Nikon 8400 with the wide lens.
The only thing missing is I also have the FE for the 8400 which Ricoh still does not have.

Hehe suggest you fast hand fast leg and put your GR at the WTS section. ;p
Hopefully it will be IR capable like the GR.
The adaptor will probably be a permanent feature like what I did to my 8400.
19mm here I come.

guess the consideration was made liao! :bsmilie: :thumbsup: :heart: :lovegrin:

maybe they will come out with a GRD-2 soon?

if u think about the film GR series.....they released the 28mm...then the 21mm.
imagine if they did it for the GRD :heart:
Ricoh 21GR Digital :heart:

heheee....meanwhile :bsmilie:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/47064662@N00/437626738/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nacoki/438685992/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nacoki/437752147/

But fix focal, although quality may be better but I prefer more versatile zoom in a package like this. Anyway with a small sensor the difference would not be that great. Zoom design and technology are fast catching up to prime lens design.

nobody else feels that the detachable viewfinder is an highly over-rated thing???

Mmm viewfinder is nice to have especially that it is sync to the camera and can rotate up like a DSLR angle finder giving 100% viewing but as a separate attachement is not very well thought out. Would be nice if they have it build in but I guess there are no more space inside to accomodate it. The real concern is can it be used from a distance ?.

nobody else feels that the detachable viewfinder is an highly over-rated thing???