Sigma 70-300 APO

Status
Not open for further replies.

helfizad

Jul 24, 2005
helfizad.multiply.com
guys wanna check if i can use my lens to take macro photography... if yes those into macro pls share some techniques thanks alot

yes you can, but it is not life size, so most probrably u need to use a close up filter or macro filter.

actually if money is not a problem, getting a dedicated macro lens is the best option....
i bought the sigma APO for its range and also for macro... but found that its macro capabilities is not really there....

i've been using this lens for several months now. it's a good ranged tele lens with additional macro as a bonus.

I think it's quite a good lens for the price. dun go comparing with the 70-200/2.8 of course. they're worlds apart

icestrike said:
does it give a good macro shot plus a good zoom??
considering for canon body.
thank you :)

yes.. look at yanyewkay's macro shots of the butterflies. Took using his Sigma APO. It is a good buy :)

yanyewkay said:
i've been using this lens for several months now. it's a good ranged tele lens with additional macro as a bonus.

I think it's quite a good lens for the price. dun go comparing with the 70-200/2.8 of course. they're worlds apart

nice photo of butterflies... howvere try to take some small cartoons models, its dosent focus properly ,, dun mine sharing your set -up ist time taking macro.... trying out..

icestrike said:
wow,cool
whats da market price now for da sigma 70-300 ?

Abt $340. U can get a 2nd hand at abt $280.

depending on the sizes of your cartoon figures, the sigma I think most probably will meet your requirements. Most wingspans of butterflies I shoot are about 3-5 cm big.

My setup is just a D70 and sigma 70-300 APO II... sometimes with flash sometimes w/o.