Shutter speed + external flash


Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 6, 2009
54
0
6
27
#1
hi guys im quite new to photography and currently using a canon350d.
i just have a question about shutter speed and using an external flash.

let's say for example i set my shutter speed to 1/125 of a second and put it on burst mode (FLASH IS OFF) , im able to capture multiple shots. but once i on the flash i cant seem to capture multiple shots anymore.

so my question is, will i be able to take multiple shots if a use an external flash (e.g speedlite)???

or will canon 350d's flash could work just as fine?

p.s. im in to skateboarding photography:)
 

Last edited:
Apr 6, 2009
54
0
6
27
#3
Ehh... why you cannot? Should be able to. So you saying if you are in continuous mode it will just snap once?
i meant continuous mode + flash on + 1/200s.

i wanna take a sequence of shots, like the ones you see in skateboarding mags of webbies.
 

spidey89

Moderator
Staff member
Jun 6, 2007
8,157
12
38
South Western Singapore
#4
cause the flash needs to recharge,simply put,if i were to ask you to continuously sprint for 1km,are you able to do so?obviously not right?need time to recharge before can take another shot

Not so sure about Canon,but Olympus can set such that regardless of whether the flash is charged or not,we can still shoot,but will not have flash la
 

Apr 6, 2009
54
0
6
27
#5
alright, bt is there anyway that i could do a continuous shooting with a flash on?

for example, external flash ? or do i hv to buy those costly strobes to do it?
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#6
alright, bt is there anyway that i could do a continuous shooting with a flash on?

for example, external flash ? or do i hv to buy those costly strobes to do it?
you can do that, with the help of an ext battery pack, but you are risking yourself for blowing the flash tube.
 

Apr 6, 2009
54
0
6
27
#7
alright , i'll rather not f-up the camera. thanks for the help guys.
much appreciated.
 

May 18, 2009
171
0
16
www.flickr.com
#8
Hmm... did u set it at full power? Mayb u could try lowering ur flash power and perhaps it will enable u to flash a few more times? correct me if i am wrong, cos i am still very new to photography.;p
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,544
33
48
Pasir Ris
#9
alright , i'll rather not f-up the camera. thanks for the help guys.
much appreciated.
catchlights wrote about flash tube, not camera, referring to external flash you asked.
Apart from that, even your external flash needs recharge time. How much time will depend on the how much energy was used for the shot (and therefore needs to be recharged) and also how good your flash batteries are. That's where the external battery pack comes in for faster recharging.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#10
external battery pack will help you reduce the recycling time of your flash, and also provide you more power for long hours shooting, however, many people machine gunning their shoot when using a external battery pack with flash, as such, the flash tube will build up temperature very fast, without letting the flash tube to cool down, blowing flash tube is inevitable.
 

May 11, 2008
301
0
16
#11
external battery pack will help you reduce the recycling time of your flash, and also provide you more power for long hours shooting, however, many people machine gunning their shoot when using a external battery pack with flash, as such, the flash tube will build up temperature very fast, without letting the flash tube to cool down, blowing flash tube is inevitable.
tot most flashgun comes with a self temperature regulatory function? it wont let u fire away once u hit certain XXX of shots during a certain period of time.
i'm still quite new to photogrpahy. someone correct me if i am wrong. :)
 

#12
alright, bt is there anyway that i could do a continuous shooting with a flash on?

for example, external flash ? or do i hv to buy those costly strobes to do it?
Try opening up your aperture, maintain shutter speed at 125 and do not shoot subject against the sun or any backlighting so subject appear in light. In this manner most likely no need flash. try also higher ISO like 400 then you can put to higher shutter speed like 250 or 500 w/o need flash on subject.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#13
tot most flashgun comes with a self temperature regulatory function? it wont let u fire away once u hit certain XXX of shots during a certain period of time.
i'm still quite new to photogrpahy. someone correct me if i am wrong. :)
Not sure about other brand's flash, AFAIK, only Nikon SB900 has this feature of shutting down the flash for preventing overheat.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#14
Try opening up your aperture, maintain shutter speed at 125 and do not shoot subject against the sun or any backlighting so subject appear in light. In this manner most likely no need flash. try also higher ISO like 400 then you can put to higher shutter speed like 250 or 500 w/o need flash on subject.
1/500sec and above can freeze most sport action, lower then this will still have motion blur.
 

WhipLash

New Member
May 15, 2006
161
0
0
#15
i meant continuous mode + flash on + 1/200s.

i wanna take a sequence of shots, like the ones you see in skateboarding mags of webbies.
Er, are you referring to multiple images captured on the same picture?

At first I thought that you were limited by the flash recycle time, but if you are trying to get the multiple flash images into one picture, you need a stroboscopic flash, like the 580EXII.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom