Shutter release cable any use?


Status
Not open for further replies.

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#3
Thinking if I should get this... Is it useful?
Those who have it, what do you use it for?
There are 2 types of shutter release cable. Full mechanic one and the other one is electric type like switch type.

You should know first which one your camera can use it or you will in the wrong buy.

Regards,
Arto.
 

poh6702

New Member
May 8, 2004
999
1
0
#4
The purpose of Shutter release cable is to prevent hand shake blur due to hand pressing motion that cause slight camera shake, therefore Shutter release cable should be used when the camera is mounted on tripot.

For DSLR, I will go for IR remote shutter release.
 

arpinkor

New Member
May 13, 2005
457
0
0
Nee Soon
#5
It depends on which camera you use. Not all DSLRs have IR remote release.
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#7
Thinking if I should get this... Is it useful?
Those who have it, what do you use it for?
I use it to strangle little animals. :bsmilie:

Get it if you need it. How do you know if you need it? Look at your shots taken when the camera is mounted on a tripod, does there appear to be camera shake? Because pressing the shutter release button may shake / move the camera.
 

noobie

New Member
Jan 29, 2007
313
0
0
#8
Definitely useful! Very useful when taking fireworks when using bulb mode.
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#9
I use it to strangle little animals. :bsmilie:

Get it if you need it. How do you know if you need it? Look at your shots taken when the camera is mounted on a tripod, does there appear to be camera shake? Because pressing the shutter release button may shake / move the camera.
Aiyah.. the mirror slap induces more vibration than my finger pressing the button lah! :cry:
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#10
Definitely useful! Very useful when taking fireworks when using bulb mode.
What if I shoot fireworks handheld? ;p One hand hold the lens, the other hand hold the cable release?
 

blazer_workz

Senior Member
May 8, 2006
3,118
0
0
ClubSNAP Community
#11
What if I shoot fireworks handheld? ;p One hand hold the lens, the other hand hold the cable release?
:think: :thumbsup:

when shooting fireworks/nite landscape wif camera mouted on tripod and shooting in bulb mode..u have to press and hold onto the shutter release button for the required duration..which can cause camera shake over prolong period..cable release is for avoiding this situation..most cable release has a lock feature which works exactly like holding onto the shutter release
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#14
:think: :thumbsup:

when shooting fireworks/nite landscape wif camera mouted on tripod and shooting in bulb mode..u have to press and hold onto the shutter release button for the required duration..which can cause camera shake over prolong period..cable release is for avoiding this situation..most cable release has a lock feature which works exactly like holding onto the shutter release
Alamak.. forgot to stop down the aperture.. the firework continuously firing for 20s.. everything over exposed.. ;p Or the button lock jammed (it did happened to my MC-DC1 before).
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#16
Aiyah.. the mirror slap induces more vibration than my finger pressing the button lah! :cry:
haha lah! :D Don't cry.
But I'm sure you use it in conjunction with mirror luck up? :O

Also, don't strap your mobile phone to the camera, it will vibrate when someone calls.
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#17
haha lah! :D Don't cry.
But I'm sure you use it in conjunction with mirror luck up? :O

Also, don't strap your mobile phone to the camera, it will vibrate when someone calls.
Haha.. no M-up function on D70s. Now I see why Nikon hasn't implemented a phone-camera yet.. It can be quite disturbing if someone calls you during a bulb shot and you set the phone to silent vibration mode... :D
 

ipin

Senior Member
Nov 21, 2005
5,387
0
0
#18
besides the cable release, can use the timer function in concunction with the mirror lockup to eliminate camera shake on a tripod? ;)
 

adamadam

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2004
3,637
0
0
32
Perth
www.flickr.com
#20
Haha.. no M-up function on D70s. Now I see why Nikon hasn't implemented a phone-camera yet.. It can be quite disturbing if someone calls you during a bulb shot and you set the phone to silent vibration mode... :D
And then the sms appears in the exif. I don't think I've seen a phone with a tripod-mount yet, but they are getting pretty advanced these days!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom