Should photographer avoid this event ?

Static

Jul 5, 2006
Surfing soft porn in CS
Saw this event from a blogspot being organized by the doctor chee: Sori mod pls remove this thread if it is inappropriate.

11:00 am Assembly and rally at Speakers' Corner @ Hong Lim Park

1:00 pm Walk to Parliament House

1:30 pm Rally outside Parliament House

2:30 pm Walk to Suntec City

3:00 pm Rally outside Suntec City

4:00 pm Walk to Istana

5:00 pm Rally outside Istana

6:00 pm End and dispersal

As a typical K-po Singaporean, I am very keen to photograph the event but DEFINITELY NOT participate in it. But I am scared I may actually get into trouble when i am around the vincity.

Should K-po photography hobbist like me avoid this ? :sweat: :sweat:

It won't happen.
Even if it does,everything will end at honglim park :)

Singapore's laws are very peculiar .... if you are too close to the crowd you may be considered part of the gathering, which in the eyes of the Singapore's laws, it is illegal! Maybe bring your 200mm - 300mm and stay far far away ... then i think it should be okie.... but really our Government is not going to let this matter to embarass them during the IMF here.
Well i think he is expecting the Police to do something to him, and probably charge him during this period .... but nothing will happen :think: maybe you bring your mobile and send the clip to stomp ..:bsmilie:

It will never happen.

Canonised said:
Singapore's laws are very peculiar .... if you are too close to the crowd you may be considered part of the gathering, which in the eyes of the Singapore's laws, it is illegal! Maybe bring your 200mm - 300mm and stay far far away ... then i think it should be okie.... but really our Government is not going to let this matter to embarass them during the IMF here.
Well i think he is expecting the Police to do something to him, and probably charge him during this period .... but nothing will happen :think: maybe you bring your mobile and send the clip to stomp ..:bsmilie:

Wahaha if use HP cam must move very close leh, later kena arrested for using HP camera in demonstration. :confused: Siao :confused:

Ya u r right, better stay away. Later bring popcorn there enjoy show but later kena arrested to Tanglin PS for nothing..
But I guess the doc chee will stop at nothing to embrass the govt. Hmmm.. :think: dunno want to go or not

Hi Static, what is the date of this intended 'protest'? Thx.

As much as you might think his actions are stupid/foolhardy remember that this guy is just as educated as you, if not more. He was a previous lecturer at NUS as well. Then think again, why would an educated man with obviously a high iq and a FAMILY to feed feel strongly enough about an issue give up an otherwise materially comfortable life to lead such a life. Also, whose freedom does he claim to be fighting for? His political party's? I don't know, I leave you to figure that one out yourself.

Why call him a mad doctor? Must we really resort to such name calling as mature individuals? For a man to take such drastic actions surely there has to be a strong motivation. How many of you have the courage to do such a thing? That alone I feel is worthy of photography. Don't be fooled by the 140th's smear campaign. We as discerning citizens should listen to both sides of the story before jumping to conclusion.

I represent no political parties here and hold no political interests. I am just disturbed that there are people simply jumping to conclusions and calling his actions mad or otherwise when all this man has is a grand idea and the moral courage to execute it.

peapilot said:
As much as you might think his actions are stupid/foolhardy remember that this guy is just as educated as you, if not more. He was a previous lecturer at NUS as well. Then think again, why would an educated man with obviously a high iq and a FAMILY to feed feel strongly enough about an issue give up an otherwise materially comfortable life to lead such a life. Also, whose freedom does he claim to be fighting for? His political party's? I don't know, I leave you to figure that one out yourself.

Why call him a mad doctor? Must we really resort to such name calling as mature individuals? For a man to take such drastic actions surely there has to be a strong motivation. How many of you have the courage to do such a thing? That alone I feel is worthy of photography. Don't be fooled by the 140th's smear campaign. We as discerning citizens should listen to both sides of the story before jumping to conclusion.

I represent no political parties here and hold no political interests. I am just disturbed that there are people simply jumping to conclusions and calling his actions mad or otherwise when all this man has is a grand idea and the moral courage to execute it.

Opps My bad... amended my statements

peapilot said:
Long long ago in China, there were two brothers. One day the landlord build a wall next to their house. The educated brother was so angry and insisted to bring down the wall. So he used his head to bang onto the wall hoping that the wall will collapse. Of course the villagers could only watch and see him bleed ....
Then the younger brother decided to do something. Every morning he took a small brick from the wall and hand them to one of his neighbours and tell them the usefulness of the brick and where they can get hold of free bricks. In no time, the wall was no more there.
Moral of the story .... there are better ways to solve your problems.

Mind posting the statement here for the benefit of those who don't have access or can't read the paper?

can go.. but i think this plan.. is tentative one lah... u'll nv know wat he'll do next.. scully see an MP.. he go hysterical..

anyway.. if u wanna go.. can.. wear WHITE short sleeve shirt + white pants to shoot.. sure bo tai chi one.. haha.. ;)

Maybe Chee Soon Juan should change his name to Dr Chee Sin after someone here labelled him a mad doctor? ;p

Kenny

U guyz wanna get close up no problems. But if a single bottle flies (plastic or not), police will perceive it to be an immediate threat and charge in straight away.

Press pass or not, wear white or not, 'innocent supporters' or not. Once batons, water cannons and even bullets start flying if Police kena u, they wun be held responsible for any death or injury that occurs to u.

U guyz can sit here and argue abt the constitution all day long or the 'kiasuism' of the Govt aft my post and on perceived 'police brutality', but if u are thinking of joining in, be prepared for the consequences which will be urs to bear.

Yes, the Police would use all means necessary including firepower if such an event were to take place. :) And dun think that's "wayang" and the 'running dogz in blue' ain't gonna have the balls to carry it out. Talking big here is one thing, the experience of water cannons firing at u or the solid baton coming down on ur head to crack ya skull ain't a pleasant feeling.

My genuine advice.