Shooting RAW


Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#1
Do you set the following to default when shooting RAW?

1. Brightness
2. WB
3. Contrast
4. Color
5. Sharpness

Any good tips for a "RAW" newbie? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#2
Do you set the following to default when shooting RAW?

1. Brightness
2. WB
3. Contrast
4. Color
5. Sharpness

Any good tips for a "RAW" newbie? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
Err.. all of these wont affect the "raw image" ...

I will set them if i m takin JPEG + RAW
 

ed9119

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 11, 2002
11,014
39
48
56
Singapore
www.walkeast.com
#3
dial down the EV a little to avoid blowning out the brightest areas of an image too much ...... any image editing software is going to have problems working with pure white
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#6
dial down the EV a little to avoid blowning out the brightest areas of an image too much ...... any image editing software is going to have problems working with pure white
Very good point. Thanks ed9119!
 

ed9119

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 11, 2002
11,014
39
48
56
Singapore
www.walkeast.com
#7
outdoors -2/3 EV
indoors set it back to 0 EV

this is purely personal .......... above is my personal preference
 

CamInit

New Member
Nov 3, 2009
756
0
0
#8
dial down the EV a little to avoid blowning out the brightest areas of an image too much ...... any image editing software is going to have problems working with pure white
I did the opposite when shooting RAW. Unless a lot of bright areas, I try dial up +1/3 EV in the spirit of "expose to the right". Well, not really expose to the right but I suppose since the in-camera histogram only shows JPEG results. Hopefully can cram a bit more details as now using RAW. Can always recover later if necessary. :think:

yeah, there's some very risky assumption, namely that the JPEG histogram is an incomplete reflection by the (evaluative) metering of the scene. Hmm.. just experimenting and see what comes out. :dunno:
 

LifeInMacro

Senior Member
Aug 8, 2008
605
0
16
Singapore
#9
I did the opposite when shooting RAW. Unless a lot of bright areas, I try dial up +1/3 EV in the spirit of "expose to the right". Well, not really expose to the right but I suppose since the in-camera histogram only shows JPEG results. Hopefully can cram a bit more details as now using RAW. Can always recover later if necessary. :think:

yeah, there's some very risky assumption, namely that the JPEG histogram is an incomplete reflection by the (evaluative) metering of the scene. Hmm.. just experimenting and see what comes out. :dunno:
I sometimes do the same too, esp. shooting a person in very bright places like sandy beaches - the cam sensor may sometimes will be "fooled" to underexpose the shots if left at auto settings. But seriously, no strict rules here. Shoot and check histogram regularly in the context of the subject matter.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#10
CamInit/LifeInMacro, thank you for sharing your experiences.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#11
Spend the whole of this morning shooting RAW at Raffles Place.

It's very time consuming converting RAW to JPEG but the results are very satisfying.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#12
ed9119, thank you for the tip on under-exposing when shooting outdoor, it does preserve the precious highlights (e.g. the sky) when shooting landscape.

When shooting RAW, I no longer have to bracket my exposure when shooting delicate subject.

It's also very easy to achieve the correct exposure (brightness), contrast and saturation.

I now leave all my in-camera settings at default.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#14
When I was shooting JPEG, I use to spent time fine tuning my in-camera settings for perfection, keeping PP to the bare minimum.

I still believe that all beginners should still learn to play with their in-camera settings before switching to RAW.

This will give them a better understanding of what exposure, contrast, saturation and sharpness is all about.
 

hori

New Member
Jun 22, 2003
481
0
0
Singapore
#15
Do you set the following to default when shooting RAW?

1. Brightness
2. WB
3. Contrast
4. Color
5. Sharpness

Any good tips for a "RAW" newbie? :bsmilie: :bsmilie:
I keep most to default when I shoot RAW. I just dial up one unit for 'colour' and 'sharpness'.
 

Diavonex

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2008
3,641
0
0
Admiralty
#16
Numnumball pointed out to me that the in-camera settings (e.g. brightness, contrast, sharpness etc.) does not affect the RAW file.

It only come into play when you shoot JPEG or RAW+JPEG.
 

CamInit

New Member
Nov 3, 2009
756
0
0
#17
I keep most to default when I shoot RAW. I just dial up one unit for 'colour' and 'sharpness'.
Think depends on the intentions. Seen suggestions on something like keeping to minimum to optimize for exposure to right for histogram reading. Another way could be to use the in-camera settings so that more efficient for batch conversion to JPEG say, under DPP. Only selected few gets additional RAW treatment.

For me, I just select customized my average settings. Since 500D LCD actually good enough to make some crappy photos look good, can make people go wow while in camera preview. After that go home and narrow down those can-make-it shots, fine-tune in LR/PS, then can wow people a second time. Hopefully leaves better impression. :bsmilie:
 

Top Bottom