Shooting chiobu or shooting as an art?

Sometimes I see people shooting a nice lady smiling, I ask myself, what is the concept behind that series of photos, and I can't think of anything.

What do you say?

"To freeze the lightning second of attraction which won't happen again." -Elle magazine (China edition) photographer.

Sometimes I see people shooting a nice lady smiling, I ask myself, what is the concept behind that series of photos, and I can't think of anything.

What do you say?

whatever the excuses they offer, they are really shooting chiobu. :bsmilie:

Yeah. I use the same reason to justify me watching pr0n. :)

well ... let sit back and think thru how are we being made ? do we drop from the sky when our parents got married ? all i want to say we are humans and it is normal to have desires.

however, when a human desire becomes an uncontrolled complusive addiction issue, that's the danger & death zone.:sweat:

to be honest, i am glad that my photography frens are motivated by women and not men. :sweatsm: imagine your dear buddy kept staring at you instead of that bikini model beside him...

errr....wats wrong with shooting chiobu? is it any different than shooting nudes which some claim are artistic (as in artistic nude) but others term as smut? or for that matter, why shoot babies? coz they're cute? or why shoot macro? becoz its dramatic?

may i suggest a slightly different question for the TS to ask: Why not?

Redstone, I like shooting chiobus, at least i can practice my skills before I advance to the next level,we all need a good foundation, do u agree ? :)

i was like you a few years back, chiobu turn out :flush:. lucky use film, darn paiseh to show face. my pics were that bad... i never shoot another chiobu till today! :bsmilie:

Dancing uncles? :think:

sOReLe, dancing uncle oso dunno any. when i become uncle i oso cant dance! haa...

For photographers enroute to becoming successful artists, shooting chiobu in any situations is but a passing phrase ..... however there are photographers who will be so engrossed with this occupation that they become "chiobu specialists" and that can be considered artistic if they can do the job exceptionally well and good ....
The problematic ones are those who shoot in every situations and every events and yet all the images still "cant make it" ... :sweat:

dun play play, chiobu specialist shoot pop stars like Janet Jackson, Ayumi Hamasaki & get paid. they are paid to shoot, most GWC must pay to shoot! a world of difference that makes...

i say there is nothing wrong in appreciation of raw human beauty.

the same could be said of "people shooting a nice dragonfly stoning"

or

"people shooting a nice mountain sitting there"

or

"people shooting an interesting pattern of lights"

an open mind is always best when approaching any form of art. does everything have to be conceptualised?

i have many bones to pick with people who seem to shoot "nice ladies" for the sake of some form of ego-propping (wow, i am shooting a girl in a bikini, go me! i feel like a jock) or mental masturbation (i shall not elaborate on this).. but the act itself is not wrong. it is the humans behind it that warp the entire act into something else entirely.

"To freeze the lightning second of attraction which won't happen again." -Elle magazine (China edition) photographer.

Hmm.. I am sure when the flash go off or lightning flash across the sky, she will still smile.

Shoooting "nice old ladies" is excusable? :bsmilie:

unless you use it to ego prop

undoubtedly, in this superficial world today.. having access to "nice old ladies" doesn't provide much of an ego prop..

as for the other one.. i.e. mental masturbation.. that's your problem, not mine :bsmilie:

I think you need to go out more often. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

eh, so did u manage to find some chio (40+) bu for shoot? :bsmilie:

They mostly hang around vegetable stalls.

You need to have an in-depth knowledge of Chinese greens to strike up a conversation with them aunties. :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

keep up the good work, keep me (& some other keen peps) updated. :bsmilie:

post in Gatherings/Outings thread when confirm shoot... :sweatsm:

veggie theme shoot, very original somemore!! wah... :sweatsm: