Shapes, Patterns & Textures ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasphotography

Jul 28, 2002
Singapore
I am a photographer who is very shapes-conscious and patterns-driven. To display these traits, black and white films were used to undress all colours and emphasize mainly on shapes, patterns and textures...

Now, do you see what I see?

aar.jpg

aai.jpg

aao.jpg

aaf_001.jpg

aad.jpg

Great stuff once again !!

Your pictures are poetic..

I have added yr website to my favorite folder.

Looking forward to seeing some more..

Great set of collection but I have some resevations about the 4th picture....it seems to be the weakest link in this series for the very reason that its pattern does not seem that strong as compared to the other 4? Perhaps the pattern seems a tad chaotic. I suppose in technical aspects its fine but it just doesn't seem to work as the other 4 does in bringing out the "shapes" and "patterns" aspects of the theme.

In terms of originality I think the 2nd one is quite a good capture...2 different patterns that are actually the same material ie the portion on the top are made from the rows of logs at the bottom if I'm not mistaken?

An enjoyable series nonetheless!

That the top 3 pics are simply the best... beautiful shapes and patterns.

1st pic - a variety of man made shapes: the onion roof, the normal ones, the arch shape windows, the rectangular ones... excellent.

2nd pic - at least 4 elements here formed by nature: the rocks, the foamy water, the tree branches, the grass, all in different sizes contrasting with each.

3rd pic - vertical lines at the top, blank space at the middle, a few rectangles from the window, and circles/semicircles at the bottom. The woods at the bottom contrast well with those vertical ones on top. Great pic.