Settings on a Digicam for fireworks shots

Yvisg

Jul 29, 2002
Hi experts,

newbie here. possible to take firework shots using my digicam but using manual mode? what is e settings likely to be?
pls. advise. thanks.

latmo said:
yes
and of cos it is even better to use manual mode ....
what digital cam you use ?
shutter around 1-3 sec for F8 (normally digital cam have F8 max)

i using my Canon A80 use M mode
2.5S F8 ISO100 (or 50 cant remember lol)
sample are here http://www.fotop.net/latmo ;p

Such well taken pics from a P&S digicam. Great work! You set the focusing to manual infinity?

latmo said:
yes
and of cos it is even better to use manual mode ....
what digital cam you use ?
shutter around 1-3 sec for F8 (normally digital cam have F8 max)

i using my Canon A80 use M mode
2.5S F8 ISO100 (or 50 cant remember lol)
sample are here http://www.fotop.net/latmo ;p

hi!

nice pics. My digicam is considered old model, it's Nikon 885.
The specs are at this link:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/specs/Nikon/nikon_cp885.asp

Can you advise me what are e settings to set for Manual Mode? like shutter speed, exposure n etc?

Thanks.

where were you? ur pics r nice? esplanade?

look like the smallest aperture is F7.6 when using wide
and yes there is bulb shutter
think better use F7.6 and bulb but normally not more then 3 sec for F7.6
ISO 100

Hi Latmo,

Nice photos you have there. I am also a A80 user. I think I am very new in photography lah. Hope can learn some tips from you :).

Nice Shoot you have there for the fireworks. Too bad I missed it due to some other outing. :(

latmo said:
esplanade bridge

i am also newbie just got my cam last month ;)

Oh..... that pretty new.
But your album got so many pictures already wor.

Anyway, there will be an outing to take night view of Singapore with some experienced photography that will guide newbies like us on night photography.

Any of you interested?

latmo said:
ISO 100

so meaning i set the settings to:

- Aperture range to F7.6
- Use bulb shutter
- ISO 100
- Max shutter: not less than 3 secs? where to set the less than 3 secs?

Thanks. Any other settings need to adjust like White Balance? Exposure?

Yvisg said:
so meaning i set the settings to:

- Aperture range to F7.6
- Use bulb shutter
- ISO 100
- Max shutter: not less than 3 secs? where to set the less than 3 secs?

Thanks. Any other settings need to adjust like White Balance? Exposure?

erm you have to time yourself
kind of feel it if not you can set to around 2s
but becos the time to take each firework may different some look better in longer shutter and some dun so bulb mode is a advantage
white balance i just use auto

Well, what i can say about this is try with various settting. Longer shuttle speeds mean you need bigger F ...

Your camera come with Bulb mode, so it is easier for you to get a complete fireworks shot.. but of coz. you must time it ur self. B4 the actual fireworks... shot at the space you going to take the picture. From there you can do some setting and checking see what setting give you the best exposure.

Do you know the basic concept and relationship between the aperture (F) and the shuttle speed ?

chunger said:
Do you know the basic concept and relationship between the aperture (F) and the shuttle speed ?

paiseh, eh not very sure.

Hi

can i check w u all whether for my digicamera settings, i hv set to the following settings as shown below. Pls. correct me if i m wrong cos the pics i took very the blur!!!! I cant even capture a proper moving car. ???
thanks.

1) White Balance - Auto
2) Metering - Matrix?? Spot? Center-weighted? Spot AF area?
3) Continuous - Single
4) Best Shot Selector - Off
5) Image Adjustment - Auto
6) Image Sharpening - Auto
7) Lens - Wide Adapter
8) Image Quality - High
9)Imagine Size - Full
10) ISO- 100 (the smallest)
11) Exposure mode -??? Got 'P' and 'M', not sure which one to choose.
12) AE Lock - On?? Off? Reset???
13) Exp +/- ??? this is to adjust the brightness rite?
14) Focus - AF Area Mode?? Auto-focus mode?? Focus confirmation?
15) NR - On??? off??? shld be ON right?

How come i couldnt find to set the shutter speed n aperture?? where to set the bulb shutter too? pls. advise....

btw, mine is Nikon 885 model, old model.

latmo said:
ISO 100

hey does our A80 come with bulb mode? how do i activate it? u mean the bulb under WB izit?