Settings for Canon DPP S/W


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeryltan

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2006
3,354
0
0
44
s5.photobucket.com
#1
Can I know what settings you guys use when converting RAW to JPEG in DPP? I seem to suffer quite a bit of degradation in photo quality after I convert.. Here's some screenshots of the settings I'm using.. Would appreciate any advice on whether I should change any of my settings to get a "sharper" JPEG output picture..




 

DarkForce

Senior Member
May 1, 2004
1,971
0
0
newbie land
#2
Have you tried to extract to Tiff instead to compare ?

Jpg is a lossy compression image and there is some loss in quality thus does not give a "sharper" JPEG unless you use software like PS to sharpen it.

I always extract to TIFF for pro-processing, only convert to JPG at the final stage before sending for print / Web.

Just my personal view

Regards :)
 

jeryltan

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2006
3,354
0
0
44
s5.photobucket.com
#3
Ok.. Will try that and see.. Tks..

DarkForce said:
Have you tried to extract to Tiff instead to compare ?

Jpg is a lossy compression image and there is some loss in quality thus does not give a "sharper" JPEG unless you use software like PS to sharpen it.

I always extract to TIFF for pro-processing, only convert to JPG at the final stage before sending for print / Web.

Just my personal view

Regards :)
 

DarkForce

Senior Member
May 1, 2004
1,971
0
0
newbie land
#4
jeryltan said:
Ok.. Will try that and see.. Tks..
By the way, whenever you resize the image, the image will become a litter blur, thus need to do some sharpening to it (but don't sharpening too much hor). :)

And always do sharpening as the final last step.
 

jeryltan

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2006
3,354
0
0
44
s5.photobucket.com
#5
:) Tks for the tip..

DarkForce said:
By the way, whenever you resize the image, the image will become a litter blur, thus need to do some sharpening to it (but don't sharpening too much hor). :)

And always do sharpening as the final last step.
 

DT_

New Member
Nov 4, 2005
883
0
0
#6
:bigeyes: output res.. 1200dpi...

to retain good resolution.. convert to tiff @ 300dpi is more then enough.. if you need more detail sharpness, use software.......
 

jeryltan

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2006
3,354
0
0
44
s5.photobucket.com
#7
:bsmilie: Yah lor.. Kept increasing to see if it improved the output JPEG.. Will revert back to a lower setting the next time and see :)

DT_ said:
:bigeyes: output res.. 1200dpi...

to retain good resolution.. convert to tiff @ 300dpi is more then enough.. if you need more detail sharpness, use software.......
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom