Seeking advice on how to shoot in certain environments.

Status
Not open for further replies.

beagal

Aug 31, 2009
Hi

I'm a novice.. have just bought my first DSLR and have been shooting and learning.

I would like to seek some advice on how to shoot in a room where the lighting is all spot halogen lights. i.e. the lights are bright, harsh and orangey. The apartment I live in is completely lighted with these lights. I keep getting shadows on faces and food on the table also look very bright, so food photos look unappealing. Any suggestions?

Also, today I tried shooting in a dimly lighted KTV room. I used AV mode, f2.8 and tried various ISO levels, up to ISO3200 and my shots were all blurry. I got better shots with my PnS camera at ISO3200! Did I do something wrong here? In the end, I had taken all shots with built in flash on (with a gary fong flash diffuser). I would have preferred not to use flash light. Any tips?

Last question - today I got my friends to literally pose for 3 shots.. i.e. again and again as the exposure wasn't right and I kept snapping, go one notch higher, snap.. not happy.. go one notch higher.. snap again. Anyone has tips on how to judge what exposure settings to set before shooting? Coz I can't tell in the view finder. Or is it really a trial and error thing until I have a good eye for lighting?

THANKS heaps in advance.

- Bea

Hi

I'm a novice.. have just bought my first DSLR and have been shooting and learning.

I would like to seek some advice on how to shoot in a room where the lighting is all spot halogen lights. i.e. the lights are bright, harsh and orangey. The apartment I live in is completely lighted with these lights. I keep getting shadows on faces and food on the table also look very bright, so food photos look unappealing. Any suggestions?