see black spots


Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#1
hihi

Today then realise 1 big black spot on the sensor ? i took out the lens.. lens dun haven. i look thru the viewfinder have.. I haven blowing and cleaning . cannot removed. when I took pictures.. there is no effect .

Wat are they ? fungus ? Need to bring to canon service centre ? Still under warranty . is it covered ?

thanks !
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#2
If it's only on the viewfinder, then you have dust on your focusing screen or stuck in the pentaprism/pentamirror assembly. If it's on the focusing screen, use a blower to blow it off. If it's in the mirror assembly, then you need to bring to a service centre. But realistically it won't affect your pictures, so unless it's really annoying you, just live with it
 

Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#3
tried the blower as well.. i tink its on the top screen which may b mirror assembly?? coz it concides with the points on the screen...
its covered in the warranty ?

wonder how it gets in.. i din change my lens ...mm.. thanks so much !
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#4
tried the blower as well.. i tink its on the top screen which may b mirror assembly?? coz it concides with the points on the screen...
its covered in the warranty ?

wonder how it gets in.. i din change my lens ...mm.. thanks so much !
Your lens isn't air-tight, so there is always a possibility for fine particles of dust, etc to land on the focusing screen or mirror. It is practically inevitable that something like that should happen. If it doesn't affect the image, I think you should try to live with it, rather than turn it into an obsession :)
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#5
hihi

Today then realise 1 big black spot on the sensor ? i took out the lens.. lens dun haven. i look thru the viewfinder have.. I haven blowing and cleaning . cannot removed. when I took pictures.. there is no effect .

Wat are they ? fungus ? Need to bring to canon service centre ? Still under warranty . is it covered ?

thanks !
If you are using a DSLR (i.e. typical camera with changeable lens and mirror and optical viewfinder), dust on sensor will not show up when you look through the viewfinder. The sensor is hidden by the shutter mechanism.
(see photo below for clearer explanation)

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_mMHvIAd8RH0/SP6SZ86PH3I/AAAAAAAAAn0/-0WxpdlJ9ZU/s400/Nikon_lightpath.jpg

Similarly, dust on viewfinder, prism, mirror, or focusing screen will not show up in your captured image.
 

Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#6
haaa.. thanks bro for your explanation... but me abit obsessed.. abit irritated by the big spot.. but I guess..they can do it quite fast rt ?
Actually I try blowers, lens pen, brush ... cant reach... errr cant removed eeeeee....lol
How i wish i know how to reach it and do it myself..
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#7
Erm, I once saw an explanation on how to clean the viewfinder... Unless you are really good, else, don't attempt it. There are some parts that cannot be touched carelessly or it will leave a permanent scratch worse than your black spot in viewfinder.
 

Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#8
its not viewfinder.. its rt inside the camera after I detached the lens...
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,544
33
48
Pasir Ris
#10
its not viewfinder.. its rt inside the camera after I detached the lens...
The next optical element after the lens would be the mirror. If you can't remove any dust / dirt with a blower better have it checked and cleaned in service center.
 

Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#12
i tink its between the sensors and the shutters .. will bring down after wed ... thanks everyone !
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,544
33
48
Pasir Ris
#13
i tink its between the sensors and the shutters .. will bring down after wed ... thanks everyone !
Sensors? Shutters? Plural? While you have several AF sensors in your camera, there is only one image sensor.
Between image sensor and shutter is the AA filter. Commonly, the filter is considered as part of the sensor. So where do you suspect the spots are? Did you even read all the above?
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,043
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#14
If you can't blow it out and it isn't too irritating I'd leave it alone. Otherwise, yes, bring it down to the servicing centre. Speaking from experience from fiddling with a few SLR focusing screen and scratching them badly in the process. :bsmilie:

Cheers.
 

rain5533

Senior Member
Apr 14, 2009
3,103
0
36
S'pore, JB
www.flickr.com
#15
Any sample photo output from this camera?

If using F13 and appear that is dust stick on sensor.
If shoot like normal and remain the red or black dot, is consider sensor issue.

May need bring down to service centre for remapping the sensor.

Thanks.
 

Uncle Meng

New Member
Jul 23, 2012
73
0
0
Hougang
#17
the dust won't kill your camera,
but the itchy fingers will.

just learn to get used to it.
This is a good advice. If it doesn't affect the quality of the image, leave it alone. Don't fix an unbroken window.
 

blackster

New Member
Apr 19, 2010
93
0
0
#18
the dust won't kill your camera,
but the itchy fingers will.

just learn to get used to it.
Sadly I learn it the hard way... after taking out my focusing screen to clean, there are no dust left but scratches.. when NSC to change screen twice lol....
 

blackster

New Member
Apr 19, 2010
93
0
0
#19
There is this 1 time (Rare case) i tot i have dust at my focusing screen so i took out my screen to blow, only to see the 1mm sized dust is lodge inside the prism assembly... LL have to bring to NSC
 

Feb 17, 2008
254
0
16
41
#20
sent my camera over.. they can see some fungus but I cannot see ! anyway as mentioned they will also clean the away the dust inbetween the sensor.. but all not covered under warranty .
May i know any other place can help to clean off fungus next time at a cheaper price and gd service ?

Like wat all experts say here, cant prevent dust from going in..
 

Top Bottom