SCAM ALERT - Theatre Innovations

synapseman

May 6, 2003
State of Confusion
www.pbase.com
I know someone who got majorly ripped off by someone going around in a van, selling "high-end" hi-fi equipment, supposedly at a "heavily-discounted" price because of "surplus". This person paid $1000 for what he believed to be an expensive home theatre system. It's actually nothing more than a cheap 5.1 surround sound speaker system (no DVD player) that cannot cost more than $400 tops.

Check out the "official" Theater Innovations website.

Then, check out these articles that I've fished from the internet:

Google Groups search results

ecoustics.com forum thread 1

ecoustics forum thread 2

These scam artists have gone international!

dots... very very... tmd.... hate such scammers... but wad can we do ?

all we have to do is shop smart lor.... dun buy anything from pple in vans la... hahahha

glennyong said:
dots... very very... tmd.... hate such scammers... but wad can we do ?

all we have to do is shop smart lor.... dun buy anything from pple in vans la... hahahha

I don't even buy durians from people selling them in vans. :sweat:

Did it happened to your friend in Singapore?

Other local hifi forums have reported this "White van scams" going on in Singapore as well. I shan't mention forum names here. But the "White van" threat is real. Just becareful especially those of you who are into hifi.

Never knew this would happen in Singapore, reports only mainly came fro the UK since the last time i read What Hifi?

hehe...kena once..at SL tower 8 mths ago
2 guys in white van, One tall one short, very ah beng type... :embrass:

Their MO is to stop the van in front of yr car when u r about to leave and do their sale pitch exactly like wat u mentioned earlier...

They were very, very persistent, employing hard and soft tactics to confuse u, I must say almost to a perfection, a con artist...like being brainwash.. :dunno:

Luckily managed to hold my ground, those 15 min or so looks like an hour... :sweat:

recently saw them at Toa Payoh, circling around e carpark looking for victim... tot of getting their plates but they went off before I cud get near... ;(

guys, nothing is free... careful..!!

The scam is definitely real.

Apologies if my original post led to some confusion. Those links pointed to forums based overseas. I put them there because I am amazed that their mode of operation is so similar in the US, Europe AND here in S'pore.

I put this thread up because it happened to my friend's dad just last week, at the carpark of their HDB estate. I'm sure we'd all know better, but these scammers are targetting the older folk, or people they think would be "easy meat".

Just warn your family about this.