Salutations!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keenblade

Heya, I'm a new registrant into CS forums... I've been an avid casual snapper for years and I finally took the plunge into DSLR.

I've been an avid photographer for 8 years (ever since I got my ixus 30 which is still working now) but lately after 2 rounds of servicing, it's sadly breathing its last.

Now I'm a proud owner of a EoS 1000D!

I'm friendly and chatty (relatively) and am continuously seeking advice and feedback for further improvement, so any tips or feedback given will be much appreciated.

Currently I'm looking for photoshoots/outings to build up my experience with my new DSLR as well as photog skills, hope I can get to join up with other shutterbugs soon!

Here's one of my "portfolio" shots, taken about 3 years ago. I'll be posting questions and stuff after this welcome post ;p

First questions of the day!

I've read from other posts (http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=573847) about storage conditions. However the mannual for EOS1000d only says "operating humidity at 85%", nothing about storage conditions. I'm using a Samsung dry box with a Huminitymeter with a DIY Calcium Chloride drying agent inside (Thirsty Hippo), currently it sits around 35%-45% rh and I'm wondering if this is proper for storage.

Secondly, I'm in the process of learning GIMP to help with photo touchups, just wondering if there are any communities for this kind of software or is everyone using PS (photoshop), GIMP's learning curve is pretty steep, was hoping I could find a forum board where I could post questions too. That or are there any recommended photo utilities available.

Edit: Also, for photograph copyrighting, I have heard that Deviantart has better protection for your work than flickr and photobucket/snapfish, apart from hosting your own webbie/portal, is this true?

Cheers, and thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Hello...welcome.