ROM Photography For a frd

RuthBaby said:
tts why sometimes u really bad to shoot for someone u know.... -_-"

hmmm... but issit ethical to jus resize all the pics to small small resolutions?

:cry:

tell ur client/friend-of-a-friend that the resolution of her images will be directly proportional to the size of the ang pow she gives u. :blah:

RuthBaby said:
She jus chatted with me
how much angbao shd she give me for 4 rolls of films and touching up?

i said my touching up is ex.. hhaha... she betta take up package!!!
LOL

$500 - $800

If it bothers you so much, don't shoot.

recently my friend refered his friend to me, ask me take photo for her wedding.
she asked me how much i charge for full day. ie tea, ROM, dinner..etc. she also wanted to have a photo montage to kick off her dinner....
i told her will roughly take 8-10 rolls, so will be about $500 or so( i know this price spoil market, but i thot i give my friend some face since he intro bussiness to me)
so imagine the amount of work i have to go thru... got to hurry get the morning pics done up for show during the dinner....
then she still say wanna see my portfolio 1st... i know its the clients right to know what she is going to expect but i felt insulted when ppl make that request.
in the end she said she think about it coz she thinks its abit expensive! i told her i also cannot confirm i am free on that day.
:dunno:

worst still... 2 months ago.. one of my client refered me to her frd who is getting married in earlie Nov... U shd know lah.. Nov is a hot season for wedding... anyway... i gave her my quote..... and she didnt reply.... so i thot she gave up on my package.... LOL
who knows... I recieved her email last night ... she wanted to view my portfolio... lolz!!!!

I guess everything boils down to whether you want to accept the job or not...

If you want to accept this job, then regardless of the price, you should do it well, cos it's ur reputation as a photographer... No point pondering over whether post processing should be done, or whether you should be resizing the image or watsoever... ur professionalism is what's most impt once a job is accepted

If you dun want to, say so outright... you have ur rights as a photographer not to accept :)

Just my 2 cts worth

EiRiK said:
recently my friend refered his friend to me, ask me take photo for her wedding.
she asked me how much i charge for full day. ie tea, ROM, dinner..etc. she also wanted to have a photo montage to kick off her dinner....
i told her will roughly take 8-10 rolls, so will be about $500 or so( i know this price spoil market, but i thot i give my friend some face since he intro bussiness to me)
so imagine the amount of work i have to go thru... got to hurry get the morning pics done up for show during the dinner....
then she still say wanna see my portfolio 1st... i know its the clients right to know what she is going to expect but i felt insulted when ppl make that request.
in the end she said she think about it coz she thinks its abit expensive! i told her i also cannot confirm i am free on that day.
$500 is damn cheap liao... some pple r jus lidat...

yd i was toking to my client... den she said why my package so ex... i said... got cheap wan.... if u wan a P&S style lor... Journalistic style are different... tts why Chris Ling charges 8000 Onwards... LOL

RuthBaby said:
Well.. for those who helped their frds in rom photography.. do u all touched up for them as well?
shes actually my cousin's (M) frd's (G)'s frd (O)
last yr i shot G's wedding and O kinda like my style... so she asked mi to give her a quote for her ROM in Oct. Ive already given her the best price and she thought over it.. and asked mi to help her in Photography. But she dun wan to take up the package.. she said she would go for her own prints and no touched up required.
I was quite obliged as she was jobless at that time and said in return she will give mi a red packet.
Recently she found a job and quite well paid too.. and came to know that she hired a makeup artist which was quit costly too... I asked her to re-consider the package again... and this time round i also threw in makeup artist. But she told mi... she jus wanna me to shoot. so its okie.. she wouldnt want the package.
So shd i touched up the pics for her?
Depends loh. If she's a damn good friend den juz do some touching up for her. Helped my friend wif his ROM the other time, din expect to get paid, still did some photo touch up for him. Removed all his annoying acne-marks on his face :D

Sometimes I feel dat unless its a very, very close friend, dun do too much favours for others using ur specialised skill. U'll lose out eventually when friend's friend friend friend friend start to take advantage of u and u feel a little paiseh charging them the extra.

Anyway, nowadays I make it very clear liao. Friend or no friend, wanna repair computer? Charge $$$. Wanna take photos? Charge $$$. Unless I happy, dun feel like charging, payment is a must. How much depends on my mood. :D Can't charge a fixed fee like u guyz since I'm not 'in the business'.

actually i am not "in the bussiness" too.
still got my full time job.
its just that, most people's expectations and the money they willing to pay is inversely proportional.... :confused:
my case for instance, i seriously think i am prostituting myself by charging $500 liao...
my buddy once told me, friend or no friend, referrals or not, all charge the same market price, no friend friend discount coz i will give wrong impression about this line. should listen to him...

Never give discounts, your current client will spread and before you know it, from $1000 you'll be charging less and less each time.

I've come across people who even find $250 for a ROM expensive and ~$800 expensive for a full day wedding shoot. They can even claim they can find people who offer MUCH lesser with more stuff, and best, they claim they like your shots a lot.

Really makes me wonder which part of the truth is true.

EiRiK said:
actually i am not "in the bussiness" too.
still got my full time job.
its just that, most people's expectations and the money they willing to pay is inversely proportional.... :confused:
my case for instance, i seriously think i am prostituting myself by charging $500 liao...
my buddy once told me, friend or no friend, referrals or not, all charge the same market price, no friend friend discount coz i will give wrong impression about this line. should listen to him...
$500? :eek:

Gosh, wad is the market rate for a ROM photographer and a wedding photographer BTW?

I think I'd been chopped many times liao. I've never been paid more den $100 for all my services before.

jsbn said:

Gosh, wad is the market rate for a ROM photographer and a wedding photographer BTW?

I think I'd been chopped many times liao. I've never been paid more den $100 for all my services before.

u really ganna chop .... jialat jialat ......

blurblock said:
u really ganna chop .... jialat jialat ......
Damnation!!! Curse myself for not checking out the market rate here... :(

Even for so-called 'ameuter' standard, how much can I ask for? $800 for a full day wedding shoot?

EiRiK said:

$500 for 8-10 rolls including photomontage on the same day?!?!? AND SHE GOT A CHEEK TO SAY IT'S EXPENSIVE?!?!! :angry:

Can.... bride dun wanna pay... then she's subject to monkey work for the photomontage.-- like that anyhow cut and paste lor. Jus the the photos and forget about post process.

Just suggest to them to let their little cousins to take picture in their 32MB cards. hahaha..... nevermind... can keep snapping one.... haha.....

No wonder Singapore divorce rates so high -- coz their 1st wedding got lousy photographers... so they need 2nd or more weddings to get the "perfect" one.
:blah:

jsbn said:

OI!!!! You must be one of the culprits who spoil market for everyone out here! :angry:

Still dare say! I think you better hide or change your camera to a P&S... hee hee :bsmilie:

engineermunn said:
OI!!!! You must be one of the culprits who spoil market for everyone out here! :angry:

Still dare say! I think you better hide or change your camera to a P&S... hee hee :bsmilie:
No lah... Actually I did all those service for my friend nia. :p

His ROM, I think forget abt it liaoz, since its over last year. He nearly even forgot to give me my ang pow for helping. But his wedding's coming soon I guess, shld be around next year. Wonder how much shld I charge.

Friend is friend, buddy is buddy. But when it comes to $$$, its best to spell it out.

My 'market' is limited to like 3 or 4 ppl only since I dun have a wide social circle like u guyz. Dun think it'll spoil market for u all? :eek:

engineermunn said:
$500 for 8-10 rolls including photomontage on the same day?!?!? AND SHE GOT A CHEEK TO SAY IT'S EXPENSIVE?!?!! :angry:

Can.... bride dun wanna pay... then she's subject to monkey work for the photomontage.-- like that anyhow cut and paste lor. Jus the the photos and forget about post process.

Just suggest to them to let their little cousins to take picture in their 32MB cards. hahaha..... nevermind... can keep snapping one.... haha.....

No wonder Singapore divorce rates so high -- coz their 1st wedding got lousy photographers... so they need 2nd or more weddings to get the "perfect" one.
:blah:
Ppl all liddat one lah...

"Ai Pi, Ai Qi, Ai Dua Liap Nee" ("Want Cheap, Want Good, Want Big *ahem*")

Some ppl can't even tell the diff between good and bad picture. U can give them P&S quality with flash flare reflection on a glass and they'll say "Wah, very good. Well taken."

U let them see post-processed pix and they'll say, "Excellent!" but den once u let them know dat it's being processed and they'll say, "Wah lao eh, I want natural one. Why u do all the funny things?"

Groan.... :(

U guys face such things?