Reliable wireless triggers

reachme2003

Oct 6, 2003
Moderately priced. reliability high. used mainly with bowens studio lightings indoor. what is your recommendations? tks. (no pocket wizards, pls)

Just went down to Ruby Photo,Bowens agent to enquire about Wireless Triggers and was
recommended their Impact model.Am still using their Bowens 400Ds but have not decided
yet.Perhaps you could check it out from them.Cost 100.00 per set- trigger/transmitter.

i bought mine from tago-tech.com

cost just $10...

have been using it all the while. =)

actually i wanted to reply pocket wiz cos they are the best things around.
i've tried many other brands basically none gave me as much confidence as the PW.

may i know why no PW for you?

pocket wizards, Bowens or Quantum all are very expensive, left only Elinchrom Skyport, about $300 plus,
you want anything cheaper are all china made flash triggers.

jeanie, pocket wizards sold by Cathy are suppose to be export set, it is "illegal" to use pocket wizard in local.

i bought mine from tago-tech.com

cost just $10...

have been using it all the while. =)

I cant find any $10 1s at tago tech. :think:

pocket wizards, Bowens or Quantum all are very expensive, left only Elinchrom Skyport, about $300 plus,
you want anything cheaper are all china made flash triggers.

jeanie, pocket wizards sold by Cathy are suppose to be export set, it is "illegal" to use pocket wizard in local.

i didnt get mine from cathay anyway.

and illegal?please lah...who will 'liat'?

moreover these triggers are more often used in studio...close environment, close doors....
I wanted to tell you if you are using it studio, why you need a PW? IR trigger guo liao lar...

but just remember that your "studio" very big hor, can let people jump here jump there, better use PW lar... :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

thanks to all for yr feedback.

I'm using Phottix. Pretty affordable price.

May I know why is using Pocket Wizard illegal? Thanks.

It's some technicality about radio frequency and what-have-you. One of those rarely enforced things, like how it's illegal to cycle on pavements but people don't care.

even in closed environment and inside a room, radio frequency can still pass through normal concrete. so unless you're in a customised steel-reinforced room, illegal use of radio transmitting equipment can still be tracked.