Regarding Shutter Speed


tappy

New Member
Dec 12, 2011
6
0
0
#1
Hi everyone i am currently using eos 600D with a 18-55mm kit len and would let to know why my shutter speed can only go up to 1/200 with the flash on whereas if my flash is off it can go up to 1/4000

Thanks in advance
 

ahboy168

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2009
982
0
16
East
#2
Check your flash sync setting.
Change to auto.
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#3
tappy said:
Hi everyone i am currently using eos 600D with a 18-55mm kit len and would let to know why my shutter speed can only go up to 1/200 with the flash on whereas if my flash is off it can go up to 1/4000

Thanks in advance
Read up on flash sync speed and you will understand why
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#4
ahboy168 said:
Check your flash sync setting.
Change to auto.
How does changing to auto answer his question? One should read up and learn more instead of using auto all the way
 

tappy

New Member
Dec 12, 2011
6
0
0
#5
hey people do u all mean changing the flash function setting?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#6
hey people do u all mean changing the flash function setting?
No. Ignore ahboy.

Read up on flash sync. You will understand more then.
 

spree86

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2009
4,774
0
0
Bishan
www.flickr.com
#7
tappy said:
hey people do u all mean changing the flash function setting?
No, there's is a limit to the speed which your camera shutter can sync with the flash. Too fast and the shutter would already be closing/closed when flash is fired. In your case, it's 1/200s
 

tappy

New Member
Dec 12, 2011
6
0
0
#8
i read up n now i understand why...my last question is so there is no way to increase the shutter speed while on flash? Can increase of ISO help?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#9
i read up n now i understand why...my last question is so there is no way to increase the shutter speed while on flash? Can increase of ISO help?
Has nothing to do with ISO. It's with the specifics of how shutter mechanisms work. It's hardware.
 

tappy

New Member
Dec 12, 2011
6
0
0
#10
Understand....thx everyone for the help
 

Sep 17, 2008
3,656
0
0
#11
Has nothing to do with ISO. It's with the specifics of how shutter mechanisms work. It's hardware.
unless he can use High Speed Sync (HSS). then he can go that fast i think
 

qystan

New Member
Jul 8, 2010
481
1
0
#14
tappy said:
i read up n now i understand why...my last question is so there is no way to increase the shutter speed while on flash? Can increase of ISO help?
1/200 is already quite fast.

It invites the question of why would you need higher speeds? Specialist shots, not likely if you're asking this question.
 

kei1309

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2010
7,314
23
38
Earth
www.facebook.com
#15
i believe TS is using on-board flash and not an accessory flash. so any talk about HSS will not be relevant to him in this case
 

kei1309

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2010
7,314
23
38
Earth
www.facebook.com
#16
1/200 is already quite fast.

It invites the question of why would you need higher speeds? Specialist shots, not likely if you're asking this question.
TS is asking about why there is a limit to the fastest shutter speed when the on-board flash is turned on. it's a hardware issue, whereby the on-board flash isn't powerful enough to function at higher shutter speeds. unless, of course, TS goes for an accessory flash with X-sync capabilities
 

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#17
1/200 is already quite fast.

It invites the question of why would you need higher speeds? Specialist shots, not likely if you're asking this question.
Not really specialist shots only.
Shooting in bright situation with large aperture (eg. f/1.4) for thin DOF? Will need very fast shutter speeds.

Flash often necessary for fill lighting.
 

ahboy168

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2009
982
0
16
East
#18
Ignore me if not valid:
Check your Av sync speed setting in the body custom menu.
Maybe you have set to 1/60-1/200.
Option 1: auto
Option 2: 1/60-1/200
Option 3: 1/250 fixed
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,518
32
48
Pasir Ris
#19
Ignore me if not valid:
Check your Av sync speed setting in the body custom menu.
Maybe you have set to 1/60-1/200.
Option 1: auto
Option 2: 1/60-1/200
Option 3: 1/250 fixed
And setting to Auto will enable 1/500s shutter speed with onboard flash?
 

ahboy168

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2009
982
0
16
East
#20
Octarine said:
And setting to Auto will enable 1/500s shutter speed with onboard flash?
Maybe he got a external flash lar.
 

Top Bottom