Recommended Portrait lens for Newbies

Status
Not open for further replies.

MayBach

Jun 5, 2008
Hi Newbie here...

Apart from my nikkor 50mm/f1.8 lens, what other lens would you recommend for portrait?

1. AF 85mm/f1.4 D IF or AF 105/f2D DC?
2. Is AF 85mm/f1.8 D already good enough for newbie like me?

Thank you.:embrass:

Try the Tamron 17-50mm f2.8

Very versatile!

upppzz for tamron 17-50MM

50mm f1.4

No lens, better get experience. Shoot, shoot, shoot! Then you'll see what you really need. Rent a lens for a weekend to see if it fits your needs.

i used 50mm/f1.8

All of the above works great.
Of course good feedback on bokeh IQ from the 85mm 1.4 / 105mm DC

Ryan

Hi Newbie here...

Apart from my nikkor 50mm/f1.8 lens, what other lens would you recommend for portrait?

1. AF 85mm/f1.4 D IF or AF 105/f2D DC?
2. Is AF 85mm/f1.8 D already good enough for newbie like me?

Thank you.:embrass:

IMHO the Nikkor 50mm f1.8 is sufficiently good for portraits. Unless you dun mind paying much more for lenses with better sharpness, excellent bokeh and colours. Why not shoot a little more and enjoy the process before deciding on getting more lenses? :)

The Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 suggested earlier on is quite good. Good value for money :)

Last edited:
Actually for portraits, I'd reccomend the longer focal length of 28-75 Tamron... Too wide, you'd probably get distortions...

For most portrait shooters, they would start around 24mm onwards. 50mm for approx. half body shots, 85 for a head and shoulders, 135 onwards if you have room to work with...

a BIG THANKS to all...I really appreciate your advise.

No lens, better get experience. Shoot, shoot, shoot! Then you'll see what you really need. Rent a lens for a weekend to see if it fits your needs.

Hi. Where can i rent lenses because i'm a newbie and i really don't want to end up buying a lens that does not fit my needs..