Recommend Me A Router!


Status
Not open for further replies.
#1
Ok, following on from the Starhub disconnections thread it is apparent that I need a new router.

Now I dont really know much about routers, but I know what I need. I need a router that can transmit a wireless signal and also a direct cable link at the same time. It will need to be able to deal with high usage from 4 computers (the old one cant seem to deal well when alot of data is being transferred, just disconnects)

What would you IT Guru's recommend? Price isnt really an option if its going to be worth the money!

Cheers :)
 

megaweb

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 17, 2002
8,541
3
38
East
megaweb.clubsnap.org
#2
Any item recommendation always requires a budget ...

Try D-Link DIR300 broadband router
cost : $59 during IT show , usual price is $70++
Life time Warranty but not power adapter

Good enough for your usage.
 

TMC

Senior Member
Sep 4, 2004
6,321
0
0
Beyond Space-Time Continuum
#3
are you looking for a router or a modem router? N or no N?

I am using Belkin's N1 modem router, about 250 but then I find it worth the money and it looks cool.
 

TMC

Senior Member
Sep 4, 2004
6,321
0
0
Beyond Space-Time Continuum
#8
I already have a modem, just need the router, budget, say, $200 max then!
Dlink has one white draft N router. 199 from inforcom Funan, that one should be good. I was looking to reduce the number of wires running around so it made more sense to get a modem router.
 

hazmee

Senior Member
May 9, 2004
2,937
1
38
37
Sengkang
noorhazmee.com
#9
I am using the Buffalo router. Not bad. Price-wise, I bought it for 99 bucks. Don't know if they still keep any stock but I'd recommend the brand though.
 

kietgnoel

New Member
Dec 24, 2004
656
0
0
Planet Earth
#10
Dlink has one white draft N router. 199 from inforcom Funan, that one should be good. I was looking to reduce the number of wires running around so it made more sense to get a modem router.
I'm using this for a few months already. Comes with 4 gigabit ports. Wireless-N is much faster than Wireless-G. And the gigabit speed helps when transferring hugh amouts of data.

To me it's worth the extra that I paid.

Think I paid $190 for it.
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
42
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#13
I have a noob question: If one were to get a N router, can all laptops support it? If not, how can one check?

TIA. :)
Currently all the laptops had wireless antenna built in. Should be able to support N router, because it is backward compatible. Unless your laptops had N as well as, you will experience much faster transfer speed. :)

Check the laptop specifications, if it state wireless b/g/n....it will be ok. If dun have wireless, buy a USB wireless adaptor or link cable to your router.
 

Canew

Senior Member
Jul 26, 2005
2,229
0
0
Tampines
hjgoh.spaces.live.com
#15
Currently all the laptops had wireless antenna built in. Should be able to support N router, because it is backward compatible. Unless your laptops had N as well as, you will experience much faster transfer speed. :)

Check the laptop specifications, if it state wireless b/g/n....it will be ok. If dun have wireless, buy a USB wireless adaptor or link cable to your router.
Thanks, phoakm. But if my laptop state that it is Wireless G (which I am unsure of now), it will not go to 'N' speeds right? So that will mean that if I were to have a N router, it will not be 'fully used.' Is that correct?

TIA. :)
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
42
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#16
Thanks, phoakm. But if my laptop state that it is Wireless G (which I am unsure of now), it will not go to 'N' speeds right? So that will mean that if I were to have a N router, it will not be 'fully used.' Is that correct?

TIA. :)
Yap, the router N will backward compatible to G...you will not fully using N for your router.
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
42
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#17
Thanks guys, will go check out the d-link. I can plug the wall connection straight into that right? No need to use the other modem your given by starhub etc
Er, try to get this straight....if you are getting only router, you need to connect your modem to the router. If you are using modem cum router, just plug to the wall connection straight via the internet plug. :)
 

TMC

Senior Member
Sep 4, 2004
6,321
0
0
Beyond Space-Time Continuum
#19
Thanks for clarifying, phoakm. :)
Just to add on:

Option 1: internet->modem->router-> Comp
Option 2: internet->modem router(2 in 1) -> Comp

Option 1, just get the router and use the one that starhub gave to you. or use option 2 which throw aways the old equipment that you were had(starhub modem and old router), using just one modem router.

Also for N, your comp might not be able to use N speed but at least your signal strength is there. N signals covers a wider area, and might just affect your neighbor's network if he is using only G standard.
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
42
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#20
Just to add on:

Option 1: internet->modem->router-> Comp
Option 2: internet->modem router(2 in 1) -> Comp

Option 1, just get the router and use the one that starhub gave to you. or use option 2 which throw aways the old equipment that you were had, using the new one that you bought.

Also for N, your comp might not be able to use N speed but at least your signal strength is there. N signals covers a wider area, and might just affect your neighbor's network if he is using only G standard.
Clear description from the Master. :lovegrin:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom