Rechargeable Batteries

kokyao

Apr 1, 2007
Hi CSers, I am sure many of you uses rechargeable batteries for your Speedlite or Flashes.

Can i have some opinions of which rechargeable batteries to buy, given the wide choice now.
Heard alot about Sanyo Eneloop.

Have anyone heard of Powerone rechargeable batteries? They seem to specialise in Hearing Aid batteries from Germany

Thanks

Hi CSers, I am sure many of you uses rechargeable batteries for your Speedlite or Flashes.

Can i have some opinions of which rechargeable batteries to buy, given the wide choice now.

Have anyone heard of Powerone rechargeable batteries? They seem to specialise in Hearing Aid batteries from Germany

Thanks

Yes, I uses rechargeable batt for my flash and PnS. My choice is Sanyo Eneloop. Good and reliable. Not too expensive as well :thumbsup: .
Varta batt sucks, prone to corrosion:thumbsd:

Thanks

Have always used Sanyo... in fact, I still have unopened packs... been buying since 2100 days... have 2300, 2700, and they all serve me well...and saved me money... condition them once in a while using the Intelligent chargers, like those from Maha.

=(
Yet another battery thread!

At least this one has no poll, thank goodness!

Have always used Sanyo... in fact, I still have unopened packs... been buying since 2100 days... have 2300, 2700, and they all serve me well...and saved me money... condition them once in a while using the Intelligent chargers, like those from Maha.

I thought for Sanyo Eneloop there is only one mAh? or there is diff mAh like the normal Sanyo rechargeable batteries?

Ok thanx guys for the great help, Guess i would get the Eneloop Batteries. Woah lots of techicals into rechargeable batteries too! I didnt know batteries need conditioning too..

Once in a while only hor, hehe.

Like after every 10 uses, don't condition everytime unless you really got a lot of time on your hands. =D

How do i condition Eneloop batteries if it discharges so slowly?

...The chargers with the conditioning feature will force-discharge it.

Might want to consider the Maha travel charger at EastGear, $39 and free 4 Powerex 2700 batteries, I personally think it's a good deal. :bsmilie:

...The chargers with the conditioning feature will force-discharge it.

Might want to consider the Maha travel charger at EastGear, $39 and free 4 Powerex 2700 batteries, I personally think it's a good deal. :bsmilie:

Yeah saw the deal also. Looks like Powerex and Eneloop are the 2 most popular brand. But Powerex is 2700mAh while Eneloop is 2100mAh.

But looks like the Eneloop discharges slower.

Yeah saw the deal also. Looks like Powerex and Eneloop are the 2 most popular brand. But Powerex is 2700mAh while Eneloop is 2100mAh.

What I do, I have a mix of both. Eneloops I don't really care so much, before the shooting I just charge up the Powerexes - they last longer anyways.

When the Powerexes are finished, then I just use the Eneloops lor! =D

Yes, I uses rechargeable batt for my flash and PnS. My choice is Sanyo Eneloop. Good and reliable. Not too expensive as well :thumbsup: .
Varta batt sucks, prone to corrosion:thumbsd:

been using Varta 2500mHA for my flash without much problems for the last 3 months...maybe cos still new so haven gave mi problems yet. i also have 4 Varta's photoaccu rated at 2500mHA as well but somehow cannot be used for my flash...:dunno:

just got 4 powerex last week and used only once...find that not much difference from my varta...maybe powerex last longer but takes the same amount of time to charge my flash?

Haven tried Eneloops though...

Anyone considered on the heat aspect?

like how hot they can get when used?? Go try them out and compare... ;)

haha u seems to know but dont wanna tell us. Tell us lah.. Benefit others mah.. thats the power of forum. Consumers cannot get con anymore.. :nono:

Well... for one, I've avoided Sanyo's... they are very hot. when charged as well as in use.

I highly recommend Sanyo Eneloops. Able to retain batt power for up to a year and long lasting....rated 2000mAH.

Hi, can ordinary chargers be used for Eneloops or does one need to use special Eneloop chargers?

eneloop is a model... the brand is sanyo... and i believe its 2000mAh only :cool:

but definitely the best for casual shooter

I just bought my new Rechargeable Batteries ..
GP is the brand though.. Its a new product to challege Sanyo eneloop..
It claims to retain its power 95% even if never use for 6 months ..
Bought from home FIX D.I.Y for 35 bucks 4 AA's and a 6 hours charger that fits the 4 batteries..
Quiet a good deal ..

So far using it have been great faster recycling time and last longer than my old 2000mah sanyo..