RAW to JPEG and photomatix


Status
Not open for further replies.

HTCahHTC

Senior Member
May 9, 2008
896
0
16
#1
RAW to JPEG. do you guys do that? does it degrade quality?

btw, whenever i try to create a HDR using photomatix with 3 different exposures (from RAW), the output before tone mapping will always be pinkish or purplish. and thus, using tone map is also of no use. why is this so?
 

calebk

Senior Member
Jul 25, 2006
10,594
0
0
Clementi
#2
Well, you can't upload RAW to the internet for common viewing, nor can most people view RAW on their computers - in the end you still need to go back to JPG.
 

HTCahHTC

Senior Member
May 9, 2008
896
0
16
#3
Well, you can't upload RAW to the internet for common viewing, nor can most people view RAW on their computers - in the end you still need to go back to JPG.
okay, so it's basically having RAW and JPEG.
but do you also backup another copy of RAW?
cos i find it troublesome to revert back to the original after editing in RAW in photoshop.
 

calebk

Senior Member
Jul 25, 2006
10,594
0
0
Clementi
#4
If I shoot RAW, yes I back up both the RAW file and the edited JPG.
 

emlee

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2008
1,763
1
38
Ang Mo Kio
#5
btw, whenever i try to create a HDR using photomatix with 3 different exposures (from RAW), the output before tone mapping will always be pinkish or purplish. and thus, using tone map is also of no use. why is this so?
Photomatix recommend it's users to use other software to convert raw to jpg before using photomatix to create HDR and do tone mapping. They recognise that they are not very good at RAW conversion. Some areas pointed out like noise reduction, but I personally think they are also not good at whitebalance. That is probably why your picture comes out with a weird cast.
 

HTCahHTC

Senior Member
May 9, 2008
896
0
16
#6
If I shoot RAW, yes I back up both the RAW file and the edited JPG.
o_O thanks thanks! ;)

Photomatix recommend it's users to use other software to convert raw to jpg before using photomatix to create HDR and do tone mapping. They recognise that they are not very good at RAW conversion. Some areas pointed out like noise reduction, but I personally think they are also not good at whitebalance. That is probably why your picture comes out with a weird cast.
but i thought HDR can only be done with RAW? :dunno:
now i need to convert to JPEG? :think:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom