RAW or JPEG or BOTH


WatWatz

New Member
Jan 30, 2011
277
0
0
31
East
#1
I just wan to find out the majority of CSers here... which format did u shoot? RAW? JPEG? or both?
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#2
When I started playing, Jpeg... (cannot do much amendments. Esp the wb bit)
Later on, Jpeg and Raw (but too space consuming thou it saves abit of time during PP when JPEG don't need amendments)
Now, RAW!!!
 

Aug 16, 2010
1,049
0
0
24
Japan, Tokyo
#3
I shoot both. Raw + Jpeg(Hi-Res).

As i normally edit my shots through jpeg and if i mess up i have my raw as back up. Lol.

It's not right though as you are suppose to edit the raw file than convert to jpeg. Haha.
 

luckyorange

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2011
2,840
0
36
Ang Mo Kio
#4
for me mostly JPEG(as i dont really know how to PP) haha

as im using d7k(dual memory card slot) i set 1 to raw and 1jpeg haha
 

rhino123

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 1, 2006
5,243
15
38
NA
#5
RAW... just recently actually, all the while I was shooting jpeg... too stubborn to change. Now... love RAW format...
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,042
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#6
I shoot both. Raw + Jpeg(Hi-Res).

As i normally edit my shots through jpeg and if i mess up i have my raw as back up. Lol.

It's not right though as you are suppose to edit the raw file than convert to jpeg. Haha.
Yes, you can do a lot more with the RAW format - I think it depends on the degree of control you want over your image.

For less serious shots, I don't do anything with the RAW file; for landscapes, you can really pull a lot more DR out of a RAW file compared to the JPG. ;)
 

NoS77

Senior Member
May 19, 2008
724
2
18
#7
RAW + JPEG for me now. Saves alot of time!
 

Aug 16, 2010
1,049
0
0
24
Japan, Tokyo
#8
edutilos- said:
Yes, you can do a lot more with the RAW format - I think it depends on the degree of control you want over your image.

For less serious shots, I don't do anything with the RAW file; for landscapes, you can really pull a lot more DR out of a RAW file compared to the JPG. ;)
Ya but i don't do much PP-ing only crop. :sweat:
 

photoart

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2009
2,601
1
38
Singapore
www.facebook.com
#9
Raw + Jpeg for me.

i do culling thru all the jpeg photos. If they are ok, i will just use them. If some photos need tweaking,then i will go to the Raw file.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,541
33
48
Pasir Ris
#11
Why does it matter what others do? Select the option that works best for you, your workflow, your requirements. The selection is more than just a setting in the camera, it also affects your computer system, hard disk capacities, memory cards, workflow / software, data storage ...
 

NewbieInCS

New Member
Jun 11, 2009
741
0
0
31
Singapore
#13
Raw. It has a lot of flexibility in pp on dpp.

Used to do raw+jpg, but don't see the point in doing so anymore. I can batch process the whole bunch of raw on computer using the shot settings, which will give me the same jpg as the camera, should I need so.
 

jlim76

New Member
Sep 14, 2009
314
0
0
#15
NewbieInCS said:
Raw. It has a lot of flexibility in pp on dpp.

Used to do raw+jpg, but don't see the point in doing so anymore. I can batch process the whole bunch of raw on computer using the shot settings, which will give me the same jpg as the camera, should I need so.
May I know how to batch convert using camera shot setting? I know can set shot setting for Saturation/Contrast/Sharpness/Tone, but NR cannot right?
 

bruggink

New Member
Jul 2, 2008
901
0
0
#16
Both. Raw for editing and jpeg for organizing the photos. If you are a Mac user, then Raw will be sufficient.
 

snowc

New Member
Jan 8, 2006
717
0
0
#17
I only shoot in RAW unless I'm sure I won't be keeping the photo.
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,662
69
48
lil red dot
#18
Raw is the way to go. But when exporting 500 pics at one go, it's hell.
 

May 27, 2011
173
0
16
#19
i take very little pics each time and i m trying learning to edit photos, thus i m storing jpeg and raw

basically, the jpeg act like a base line for me to edit
 

Top Bottom